Best Breakfast Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I had a delicious cookie like this from a convenience store once, but this one is better and better for you. Due to the heaviness of the dough, I use a dough hook on my mixer and combine the ingredients in the traditional cookies/cake-baking way. I mix the sugar, eggs, water, vanilla, applesauce (I can't abide prunes) & oil, then add the dry ingredients on top. I like to use sunflower seeds or Grape-Nuts in the dry ingredients. Use your imagination here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Love this breakfast cookie, a big hit with all the neighborhood kids too. I didn't have the prunes, so I used applesauce instead, tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcie Huffman Beeler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I was surprise at the rave reviews this cookie got. These were just OK to me. I prefer a greater oatmeal to flour ratio. I'm still searching for the best breakfast cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Love it. The recipe is great to experiment with. I usually cut the sugar in half, use applesauce instead of prune juice; I like coconut and chocolate chips added, cranberries, apricots - basically whatever I have in the cabinets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
really yummy. I used apple sauce instead of prune puree and 1 cup of splenda brown sugar blend. I used raisins and craisins and left out the nuts. I used half whole wheat pastry flour and added ground flaxseed. great recipe - and fun to have for playing around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
These were soooo tasty! I have made them twice so far. I follow the recipe exactly, except that I substitute the oil for apple sauce to make them even frutier and healthier. It works (and tastes!) great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Delicious! Just like the kind you buy in the store. Not overly sweet either. I think I'll substitute chocolate chips next time to make them more kid-friendly. I was able to make about 24 cookies. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These were very good- much better than the store bought! I don't keep any prunes on hand so I substitutes mashed banana and they turned out great!! Very moist and chewy and tasted like the perfect bowl of oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I thought this was a good breakfast cookie. Very healthy. I used dried cranberries and white chocolate chips. My older son wasn't a fun but my 1 year old couldn't get it in fast enough. Was a very portable breakfast and much healthier than the breakfast cookies you get in a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Loved theses cookies! I made them for a brunch baby shower. I used four whole eggs instead of the whites and then I thought it was still too dry so I added about 1/2 cup of applesauce. Then I added dried apricots, coconut, pecan pieces, about 3/4 cup shredded carrots and about 1/3 cup of dried cranberries (I let them sit in some hot water to plump them up a bit.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCANDLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States