Best Breakfast Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Great Great!! Wow one big cookie! Thank you LEIE! :)I made 1/2 of recipe, I used the ice cream scoop to put them on the cookie sheet, Pressed down to 1/2" following recipe with wet fingers, tweaked the recipe it a bit, I ground up 1 C of the oats in my coffee grinder, ground up 1/4 C of coconut, used 1T & 1t of water, 1/2 C applesauce instead of prune puree, 1t of cinnamon and 1/2 C raisins, my cookies were really big from using the scoop so I baked 10 min and they came out great. These are not too sweet, perfect for AM, you could add a tad more sugar or some honey if you wanted too, if adding all of the fruits you probably don't need extra sweetness. Next time I'm going to decrease the flour & add some Bran and Molasses, they will taste like bran muffins. I just like a little something in the AM,I don't like to eat in the AM but know I need to eat something, these work for me! I would buy the Quakers bars and they just don't taste that good to me, tried some others and blah plus the $ these store brand bars cost! Yep, I can see substituting a banana for the puree or using some allspice for a different flavor. Finally a good recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Tastes great! I didn't have any apricots - so I skipped them & it was still yummy. I swapped 1 cup of whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour so as to add fiber. All 4 kids & my hubby love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
These are really good. I make a double batch and stick them them in the freezer. Grab and go. Thank you for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BerniceV.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
i should have read the comments first. the batter was dry and difficult to work with. cookies came out fine but with a bit of baking soda taste. i didn't see any other comments on that, so maybe i messed up. or maybe adding extra liquid as others said would have helped it all get dissolved and mixed better? hrm, just realized i forgot the vanilla. maybe that would have masked it. my suggestions: add a little extra liquid and don't forget the vanilla! i'll give the recipe the benefit of the doubt with 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I haven't reviewed any recipe on here,ever, but this recipe I just had to.. I was skeptical at first thinking, a cookie without butter? but this is probably the best oatmeal cookie I have ever made. I had to change the recipe to suit what I had, but I can imagine on its own it would be great too. What I did not expect is how hard it is to mix the ingredients. I ended up turning it out of the bowl and kneading with my hands. A spoon is not going to be able to do it. I doubt any mixer short of something industrial would either! My arms are worn out! However they are soooo good. I have eaten two already. For those curious, I soaked the prunes in hot water for an hour,and drained the juice before blending. I used the leftover 'juice' for the water, then added 2 tbsp of the 'juice' into the mix as it needed it. I used 3 whole eggs instead of 5 whites, ( I had no use for the yolks and didn't want to waste) dried mixed berries (cranberry, blueberry and cherries) for the raisins and apricots, and used mixed deluxe nuts (almonds,cashews, macadamia and brazil) for the walnuts. I also added an 1/8 of a small bag of dark chocolate chips. I also gave up on the rolling the dough into balls, as it took quite awhile to wash my hands from mixing, I just used 2 regular tablespoons, one to scoop the other to push it onto the pan. Well worth the effort! Excellent recipe..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
These are really good! I was skeptical, but I was very pleased. I baked at about 340 for 8 minutes because I didn't want them overdone. I watched them carefully and they came out great! Mine are really moist and even fall apart. I like all my cookies underbaked a bit. It makes a ton. I put most in the freezer and just pull them out as I need them so they don't get stale sitting on my counter. Haven't had one from the freezer yet, but cookies usually freeze pretty well so I'm sure they'll be just as good. To those making their own prune puree, definitely use baby food prunes or Lighter Bake, which is an oil substitute you can find at the store in the baking aisle. I think it's kind of hard to find these days, but if you can find it, that would work, too. I will be making these again for sure. I use these for my pre-work out "snack" in the mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Perfect to take to work for breakfast on the go! I used 2 c whole wheat flour, 1 c white flour and 1 c wheat bran /flax meal to up the fiber.I replaced the water with 1/4 c apple juice. I replaced the 5 egg whites with 3 whole eggs. 8 minutes at 350 was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LepJC4me

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I doubled the apricots, applesauce (in place of the prunes) and vanilla, added 2/3 cup cranberries and tripled the nuts (i like nuts) and dropped the water. I also added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg (nuts...) and 2 T soft butter. a 1/4 cup scoop-size takes 12 min, bigger ones took 14. i liked the taste, but very cake-like. next time i will add more oats, and even more of the dried fruits and nuts (ah, nuts...). very repeatable. oh - don't worry about the stuff being too dry to mix right. keep at it and suddenly it's all mixed and ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
These are a tasty, simple to make treat. Very easy to adjust to whatever you have on hand. I have used 1/2 to 1 cup puree - using dried figs, apples, pears or prunes, dried cherries, apricots or blueberries. I cut down on the sugar a bit and freeze and bake as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I really liked how these turned out. The only thing I did different was substitute applesauce for the canola oil. Next time I will add chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States