Best Breakfast Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I am addicted to these. Great for a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This is a good basic recipe. There is alot of room for variations. I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, used applesauce instead of prune puree, used figs instead of apricots, and almonds instead of walnuts(I had these things on hand). I used 3 whole eggs instead of just whites. I also soaked the fruits in boiling water like other reviews suggested and used the water for the 2 tbs. When I baked them for 8 min, they were still doughy so I did them all for about 12 and they were just great. Pair with a glass of milk and you have a perfect, quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I didn't have any apricots but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I found the 12 minute cook time to be the best. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
These are great! when I was first mixing up the batter, they were very dense and dry looking, I did add a bit more liquid(I used Fat Free half and half instead of the water) I also used baby food prune puree, I added a dried fruit berry mix and some mini chocolate chips. before putting them in the oven, I sprinkled a bit of raw sugar over the top. they are a filling, portable meal in themselves. A healthier alternative for a sweet tooth! can't wait to try other variations. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These are delicious, and healthy, cookies! My sister and I make three batches at a time and store them for breakfast in the fridge. We also make variations to make them healthier by adding different dried fruit, nuts, and wheat germ or healthy flour. Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mo Gozo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stareynoso
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
These are FANTASTIC! I divided the batch in half and made one with dried fruit and the other with pumpkin. For both, I used 1.5 cups whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup oat bran in place of the white flour (to help polish my husband's cholesterol even better!), cut the sugar to 2/3 cup each (and mixed with the dry ingredients), and used 1/2 cup egg substitute for the whites. For the dried fruit cookie, I replaced the oil and prune puree with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. I got an antioxidant fruit & nut mix from the local grocer, and poured boiling water over 1 cup of it while I mixed the other ingredients. I then drained the fruit before adding it in. It made the dough nice and moist (like thick oatmeal). I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to scoop these onto the parchment papers and a spatula to smush them down with, and ended up with exactly 11 cookies, which baked for 9 minutes. Don't leave them in any longer if you can help it! I ended up over-baking the pumpkin ones since they seemed a little undercooked, and now they're a little tough. For those, I used 1/2 cup pumpkin puree for the oil & prune, used 1.5 tsp pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon, and a handful of raisins at the end instead of the fruit & nuts. They were all right, but I think that's mostly due to my baking them for 10-11 minutes. They were also not as moist at the fruit ones, so I might add a little more pumpkin next time, too. Also, instead of using my hands, I noticed that the fruit cookie wa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stareynoso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I am on my second batch, and printing out recipe to take with these to give to office gals, who are real excited to taste the cookies. They are a wonderful alternative to having to find something to grab for breakfast in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATALINALOVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Pretty darn good way to start the day! I am not fond of dried apricots baked into things, so the fruity version of these was not MY absolute favorite, but the family devoured them. I made half the batch with mini chocolate chips, omitting the dried fruit, and those were awesome. Great traveling breakfast! (and not a bad hiking snack either!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Very good and definitely fits in to my definition of a healthy breakfast alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
AWESOME! I loved these for breakfast or dessert or just a snack anytime. I used prune baby food, and added raisins and dried cranberries - I don't care for nuts. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie 2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States