Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Hi all, it's me, SouthernGma. Wanted to let you know that if you have leftover hamburger, hotdog buns or rolls for sub sandwiches, you can split them and toast on a tray in the oven and use up that extra bread in making this bread pudding. Works just as well and a good way to use up bread before you have to feed it to the birds or toss it. 1/2 of a burger, hotdog or sub roll will equasl one slice of farmhouse-style bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was tasty. Although, it is really sweet! I didn't have farm house bread, but the recipe said to use a "hearty" style bread, so I used bread from a homemade loaf I made the other day. I only had a small 1.5 oz box of raisins, and just used that. I don't care for raisins that much anyway. After 1 hour of baking I noticed the bread had risen to the top and the sauce was on the bottom. I stirred it lightly and then put it back in the oven for 10 minutes, and it thickened up fine. The bread pudding was very sweet, like I had said, so I do wish I would have cut back the sugar some. The sauce did have a nice brown sugar and vanilla taste. However, it is also really sweet and does thicken up almost immedietely after it cools just slightly. It might have to be thinned out a little, with some milk or cream, especially if using it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This is sooooo good! I just used reg white bread & altho I added 4 extra slices, I don't think it was enough because the pudding was a little too mushy for my taste. My fault tho, not the recipe's. If I use reg bread again, I think I would use at least 6 extras, possibly even more. The vanilla sauce is totally different than other vanilla sauce I've had/made before. It's thicker, like a thinned out pudding, so it kind of spreads over the bread pudding, instead of soaking down into the bread. It threw me at first but I really liked it! 1 more note, I put mine into a 3 qt dish because that's what I had availble. It baked perfectly in that size, puffing up over the top, but not spilling over & I didn't have to cover it at all, it was perfectly golden. Of course, it deflated while cooling(normal). I'm not sure mine would've fit into a 2 qt dish, as called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was really good and easy to make. Loved the flavor of the raisins and the vanilla sauce. My guys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is excellent! Even my super picky husband loved it. Used toasted, cubed french bread and substituted finely chopped green apples for raisins (didn't have any) I added more cinnamon than called for to the bread pudding and the sauce (we love our cinnamon). This was just excellent. Thank you, SouthernGma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poomie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Delicious! I halved the recipe ( used 2 eggs) & didn't make the sauce (was out of brown sugar). I doubled the cinnamon & used stale hambuger buns. This is sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Excellent! The only thing I did different was I heated the milk because I wanted to make sure the sugar was fully dissolved. The family loved the bread pudding with the vanilla sauce on top. Thank you for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I don't say this often, but too, too sweet! For me anyway. I didn't make the vanilla sauce, and used leftover potato rolls. The taste was delicious, though, and I will try again with seriously, half of the sugar. But I guess that's just personal preference. I'm also interested in trying the sauce next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is just so good! I had problems with the sauce so I used a caramel sauce I like. Soooo yummy! Thanks SouthernGma! I made this again with the sauce, turned out fine this time. Still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I had never had bread pudding so I thought I would try it. This was delicious - my whole family loved it! I had baked some bread from a recipe on this site and used it instead of store bought, and I thought it was great. I also didn't add raisins because some don't like them. This is definitely the only recipe I will use! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States