Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I definitely want to give this recipe another try, but with WAY less sugar. I followed the recipe exactly and it was incredibly sweet. Even for someone like me that has such a sweet tooth! To me, bread pudding should be slightly sweet and comforting. Not so sweet that it leaves you nauseous! I do, however, like the addition of a sauce. That's something I haven't really seen before, and made this bread pudding a bit special. If I can figure out the proper sweetness, I think this could end up being a winter tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Name is accurate. Perfect consistency - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larryorkeith
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This was simple, easy and a great food. We didn't have any raisins on hand so we made it without. great way to get rid of all the extra buns we bought for a grilling party a few weeks ago. My mother made one similar and used leftover raisin bread and cinnamon rolls, they are really good as well. Enjoy this recipe, it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Family has never had bread pudding and always wanted to try. Love!!! Thanks so very much for your generosity in sharing this lovely desert. Using it for "medicine" for my daughters ulcer currently!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Work at a school and we had leftover cinnamon toast so I decided to make this bread pudding with that. Wow...was it good!! Because of the others backing off so much sugar and with what sugar was on the toast I only used about half of a cup, still stayed with the same amount of cinnamon but added a little more milk and one more egg because I felt it really needed that extra moisture (might have had more bread than what was stated too) It turned out wonderful!! The sauce is a must too because it really sets it off, I could pour that stuff over anything and it would be good! Well done, Southern Grandma!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This recipe makes the best bread pudding I've ever had. I make it with French bread and half-and-half, and add a little vanilla to the pudding. It's perfectly light, creamy, and sweet. An absolutely classic dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I found it was way too sweet, next time I will cut down the sugar in both the vanilla sauce and the pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Just the bread pudding I was looking for! I reduced the recipe for four and I used a half loaf of stale Italian bread. My sauce tasted good but it broke. I used it anyway and no one was the wiser. Great with a cup of coffee and good conversation! Don't hesitate to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
My first attempt at bread pudding and everyone loved it! I didnt want it to be too sinful, so I used 10 slices of Honey Wheat bread and in the bread pudding mix 2 1/2 cups skim milk and 1/2 cup heavy cream, and in the sauce 1 cup skim milk and 1/4 cup heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Great recipe. Altered a little bit. I added one 14 oz can of lite coconut milk , one cup of toasted coconut flakes and a cup of chocolate chips. Cut the sugar to 1 cup and used toasted challah bread. There is more sugar in the coconut milk and bread. I also let the custard soak into the bread for 5 mins. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States