Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Holy sugar overload. I didn't even put the sauce on and it was still too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wisner, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I've made this once exactly as the recipe stated except for increasing the cinnamon(personal taste). I used my homemade bread, which is 100% whole wheat. The outcome was very good, but I wouldn't rave about it because I thought it was a bit bland, surprising since so many reviewers said it was too sweet. It may depend a lot on what bread you use. With homemade wheat bread, you may want to increase the sugar. The sauce was excellent. I very much enjoyed it with the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This was a big hit at breakfast today! Excellent recipe for bread pudding. Having said that, I doubled the recipe and used one loaf of french bread, which worked out proportionally. I did NOT double the sugar and was glad I had not. We just don't need or want foods sweeter than necessary. It must have worked because my son-in-law requested that I keep making this one instead of a different recipe. And one guest had a third serving! The vanilla sauce was also very good, though we have been known to use whiskey sauce. I will try making this same sauce and adding some whiskey next time. I served it will a huge bowl of fresh sweetened strawberries which drew juice--also making the bread pudding delicious. Thanks for a great new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Great Recipe even without the vanilla sauce which I happened to be too lazy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Exceeded my expectations! I had three half loaves of white italian / wheat italian / bakery white bread, threw them un the toaster and/or in the oven to toast up before mixing them in. I think I may have used more than the 10 slices but my mixture was heavily moist but not soupy when I put it in the pans. I used 2 8x8 disposable brownie pans, fit perfectly. Baked in 1 hr and didn't cover. Also didn't have a cup of raisins so threw in a handful of craisins. Equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
made this recipe, added cinnamon and a bit of all-spice. I also snuck in about a cup of diced skinned and cored ambrosia apples. I did have to substitute about 1/4 cup of brown sugar for 1/4 cup of sugar, as i ran out of regular. I used some very flakey dinner rolls from HEB shredded into tons of flat pieces. After using 2 egg yolks versus 1 egg, and about double the vanilla, the creme' came out beautifully. just like you'd expect from a great texas BBQ smoke house. my wife LOVES raisins, so i added a handful of raisins to the creme topping, and let them soften up. I cooked the bread pudding for approximately 65 minutes at 365 degrees F. i'll definitely be doing this at my next smoked brisket event. need to find a good peach cobbler recipe to go along with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great recipe! Much better than my grandmother's. I was looking for a recipe to use up some things in my cabinets. This was perfect. I made the base recipe exactly as written with a couple of exceptions. I had no raisins so I substituted Cran-raisins. I threw in some pecans. I made the vanilla sauce with mostly heavy cream (something else I didn't want to throw out). I used sour dough bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I love bread pudding although I never made it myself. I read several comments and made some notes and I will be making it for this Sunday's dinner... I like the idea of using apples, peaches, or even chocolate chips. can't wait for Sunday.. thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diva2085

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Absolutely delicious, I am a happy camper....LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was easy the best bread pudding I've ever eaten, after a few minor adjustments. I decreased the sugar to 1/2 c and used 1 1/2 c Half n Half plus 1 1/2 c water in place of 3 c milk. I also used sweetened whip cream in place of the sauce to cut the richness and the calories. It was really good and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States