Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Just the bread pudding I was looking for! I reduced the recipe for four and I used a half loaf of stale Italian bread. My sauce tasted good but it broke. I used it anyway and no one was the wiser. Great with a cup of coffee and good conversation! Don't hesitate to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
My first attempt at bread pudding and everyone loved it! I didnt want it to be too sinful, so I used 10 slices of Honey Wheat bread and in the bread pudding mix 2 1/2 cups skim milk and 1/2 cup heavy cream, and in the sauce 1 cup skim milk and 1/4 cup heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Great recipe. Altered a little bit. I added one 14 oz can of lite coconut milk , one cup of toasted coconut flakes and a cup of chocolate chips. Cut the sugar to 1 cup and used toasted challah bread. There is more sugar in the coconut milk and bread. I also let the custard soak into the bread for 5 mins. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Didn't change a thing! My entire family loved both the pudding and the sauce. I used a loaf of Homestyle White Bread from the Giant Eagle Bakery and sliced off both ends. (Then sliced, toasted and cubed the remaining loaf per the recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Best bread pudding I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
excellent, fast and easy! Everyone loved it! Didn't have whole milk for the sauce and my grandma always used canned milk in a pinch so I did too! Used currants cause I didn't have raisins and did use 2% milk in the bread part. I read the reviews and also stirred the "pudding" about 20 minutes into the cooking, cooked it at 360 because my gas oven cooks hot and covered the last 30 minutes like it suggested. I love recipes that are not so finicky that you cant improvise! The true test of a good old fashioned recipe in my opinion! Was a great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I've never seen my picky 8 year old son eat that much before... We all loved it!! But my 8 and 4 year old have officially made this their new favorite...Yesterday was my first time ever making Bread Pudding. And, I think tonight will be my second time making it.. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Absolutely delicious. I like to add a but of clove and nutmeg to the bread mix and extra vanilla to the sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary
Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Made it exactly to recipe and it was fantastic. The best bread pudding I've ever had and the sauce was delicious even if mine didn't have a perfect glossy texture. That was probably due to me not whisking diligently enough though. If I had to change anything I would add a little less sugar because this was incredibly rich and would probably be too much for some people. Overall this was a solid recipe that my boyfriend and I loved and one that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennabees

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diannna
Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States