Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I was making a bread pudding today, using another bread pudding recipe on here but after I put it in the oven I decided I wanted to make a sauce with it. I always make it without a sauce. I found this recipe while searching and thought I would try it. I realize it's not exactly fair to rate a partial recipe, but I try to rate every recipe I make. Well, this is only a review for the sauce that goes with this bread pudding(which, I am sure is fabulous, and I will be making for sure). The sauce was great! It was not overly sweet, in my opinion, and was rich and silky. I will serve my bread pudding with a sauce from now on:) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was very good, nutricious and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, but used a little less sugar. This makes a great breakfast. Definitely will try this again, playing with other dried fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I used this as a base and made some tweaks. Def a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Delicious! First time making bread pudding, though I love it. Recipe was easy, clear, and accurate. Made it for family who had it at a restaurant for first time and loved it. Was told that this recipe was many times better than the restaurant. Good flavor without being sickeningly sweet. Did add a splash more cinnamon to both pudding and vanilla sauce, but we love cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! I made it with pumpkin bread that had been made out of Thanksgiving leftovers but didn't have much flavor on its own, but which was perfect in this recipe. I substituted butterscotch schnapps for the vanilla in the sauce, and the results there were equally yummy. OMNOMNOMNOM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Fantastic!!!! I followed the recipe almost exactly, may have used a few extra raisons…used a 9 by 13 inch pan. It is so good that I can't wait to make it again and also add pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I have made this recipe about 15 times now and it's my go-to recipe for bread pudding. I've made it with everything from hamburger buns, baguettes, farmhouse bread, etc...a soft but dense bread is the best kind to use but anything will work in a pinch. The only thing I change is that I increase the mixture by half as I find it's a bit dry otherwise. I also double the vanilla sauce because everyone always loves it so much. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe. Used some day old homemade bread and a few slices of whole wheat sandwich bread too! I had never made bread pudding before, and this was super easy and really yummy! We don't like raisins here, so I substituted 1C milk chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissiewhit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
absolutely wonderful! i used old fashioned white bread. i need to check my oven temperature because the middle was slightly soggy. i made the recipe exactly as stated and it had the perfect sweetness. thank you southerngma. my family will be having this for desert on christmas this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Used old cinnamon swirl bread and other than cutting back on the sugar and using golden raisins instead of regular, this was on point. Used a whiskey vanilla sauce for the topping! Very yummy and my new go to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States