Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Bread pudding as good as my mom's. Maybe even better and that is saying alot. I substituted peaches for the raisins and it turned out great. A comfort food that really pleases. The sauce was especially good. The pudding is also good served warm and topped with vanilla ice cream. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Excellent vanilla sauce! Serve all warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwayneNAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Next time use 1/2 as much flour or use corn starch in sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
As written, the sweetness is megawatt. But the basics were there, so I tinkered. The second time I cut the sugar back to 1 cup, and whereas it was better, it was still too much for me. It was OK that way if you don't plan to top it with the sauce. But we discovered the right proportion when serving the sauce was a mere 3/4 cup of sugar. BOO ya! That allowed the vanilla sauce to fulfill the role of complementing the rich, homey goodness of the pudding and pointing up the delicate cinnamon whisper. I added the grated peel of one lemon, which contributed a nice foil to the creamy richness, and made the orchestration of luxurious tastes shine. All in all, the recipe posted is a decent foundation, but it needed a major reduction in sugar to appeal to our palates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This recipe is perfection! Here in Texas, we eat bread pudding for breakfast, so I did make slight changes to make it a breakfast pudding. I skipped the white sugar and used 3/4 cup of brown sugar instead. We use almond milk in our family, so I used almond milk instead of milk, and it turned out just perfect. I had some bread from Sprouts that was made with walnuts, raisins, dried cranberries, and cinnamon. This bread was going to mold if I didn't use it up (we got it in the clearance for a dollar!), so this is what I used. I didn't need to add any raisins, because this bread is just packed with them. I did add a chopped honeycrisp apple, though. I made it in my dutch oven, which worked perfectly. The sauce is delicious! I can't stop tasting it. I added a tablespoon of coconut oil to it just for the heck of it (I need to add weight to my adult son, so making it higher calorie was a good idea). To keep the sauce from being lumpy, and to keep it smooth, I wisked it the entire time it was cooking - just like you would do a good gravy. It is perfectly smooth and saucy. I will be making this again... and again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I was making a bread pudding today, using another bread pudding recipe on here but after I put it in the oven I decided I wanted to make a sauce with it. I always make it without a sauce. I found this recipe while searching and thought I would try it. I realize it's not exactly fair to rate a partial recipe, but I try to rate every recipe I make. Well, this is only a review for the sauce that goes with this bread pudding(which, I am sure is fabulous, and I will be making for sure). The sauce was great! It was not overly sweet, in my opinion, and was rich and silky. I will serve my bread pudding with a sauce from now on:) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was very good, nutricious and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, but used a little less sugar. This makes a great breakfast. Definitely will try this again, playing with other dried fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I used this as a base and made some tweaks. Def a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Delicious! First time making bread pudding, though I love it. Recipe was easy, clear, and accurate. Made it for family who had it at a restaurant for first time and loved it. Was told that this recipe was many times better than the restaurant. Good flavor without being sickeningly sweet. Did add a splash more cinnamon to both pudding and vanilla sauce, but we love cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States