Best Bread Machine Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This bread made me throw away the recipe book that came with my new bread machine. I've made it twice and highly recommend it, with a minor tweak. As written, it's pretty close to my memory of Wonder Bread, extremely light and very fluffy. Just a tiny bit too fluffy for me. The second batch I baked using LUBSY's variation for a whole wheat loaf. Check the "most helpful" reviews, it's at or near the top. This was a better match for my taste. We prefer Arnold's/Oroweat brands, and the whole wheat variation is spot on. I screwed up and forgot the dry milk. It still rocked. The next time I make a white loaf, I'll follow LUBSY's ingredient list using White Whole Wheat flour + Bread flour. I'm sure it will be perfection, too. Thanks to SHECOOKS2 and LUBSY... this is wonderful daily sandwich bread, the best I've ever baked. There will be no other in my house. Can't wait to add hot cereal to it for a multi-grain loaf. ***UPDATE*** For burger/hotdog rolls, use the white version with the following changes: use butter instead of oil, increase sugar to 3 tablespoons, add ¼ cup dry milk. Delicious. I used an egg white wash to adhere sesame seeds to my hamburger rolls, and tossed the yolk into the dough. Tried the whole wheat variant w/o proofing the yeast first. The loaf was still edible, but it was more dense and not light and foldable at all. Follow the recipe. It matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made exact recipe and it turned out great! Very light and fluffy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Try your bread machine again and make this recipe. Use a half teaspoon more of salt. It will add more flavor and make it so it won't fall. You will never buy bread again. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda McCurrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I meant to leave this review a long time ago. This is one AWESOME bread! Love it. Sometimes I switch out a 1/2C bread flour for potato flour, yum! Also add another 1/2 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Made this today. I changed the recipe by some of the others suggestions. I used 2-1/4 tsp. bread machine yeast, 2-1/2 cups bread flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1-1/2 tsp. salt. Didn't have vegetable oil, so used olive oil. Other than these changes, I followed the recipe exactly. Before the last rising, I quickly took the paddle out, placed the dough back into the pan & back into the bread maker. The bread came out perfect & no big paddle hole in the bottom. (I have an older bread machine & this was the 1st time I tried taking the paddle out) Next time, I'm going to try baking it in the oven for a change. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Like many others, I was skeptical about the instructions to mix the yeast and water first, but this turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I usually dump it all in and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! I've made three different breads with it now, and they all turned out great! For raisin bread, I added two tbs cinnamon and one cup of raisins. For wheat bread, I used two cups of whole wheat flour and one cup bread flour. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I made this bread at a higher altitude ( I live at 8000 ft!) so I added 1 tsp more of salt and cooked it on the wheat setting of my bread machine. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I can't say enough about this bread. It is the best bread machine recipe ever!!!! I have shared this with so many people. I made the recipe as is and it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States