Best Bread Machine Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I saw the comments about the loaf's tendancy to fall and would like to suggest adding about 1/2 tsp more salt into your machine when you bake the bread. Salt regulates yeast activity and strengthens dough structure. Too little salt can cause the dough to rise rapidly and then fall. I've seen that for 2 1/4 tsp (.25 oz) of bread machine yeast, the general salt amount is 1.5 tsp. I made this recipe with the extra salt and it turned out really well. It is the best loaf of white bread I've gotten from my machine so far -- and it rose really high (it had me slightly concerned it might over rise). But it was a beautiful loaf in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICYBLUEROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This recipe flies in the face of conventional wisdom. It says to place the yeast in the water for 10 minutes before adding the flour! My bread machine instructions, "Electric Bread" cookbook, and even the bottle of yeast said to not allow the yeast to touch the liquid in advance. They all recommend adding water first, then the flour mixture, and yeast on top of that. Well, what do I have to lose? I tried this recipe the way it was written, and for the first time ever, I had a light fluffy loaf that rose to the top of my machine! Never has a loaf of bread made from scratch turned out this well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2656 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patticake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Annandale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This was the best bread that ever came out of my bread machine yet. On my 2nd loaf, however, I made a few changes: I used 3 Tablespoons sugar and reduced the yeast to 2 teaspoons instead of the 2 1/4 teaspoon measurement that is in the 1 packet that it calls for. This reduced the rising just enough so that the slices near the top of the loaf weren't as "airy" thus, held up better during slicing. Also, instead of using 3 cups of white flour, I substituted 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and 2 1/2 cups of white, and the result was a lovely, soft, very light white/wheat bread with a flaky crust, perfect for sandwiches! This recipe has become a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Being new to bread making and having a new bread machine I have been looking for different recipes to try. It scared me a bit mixing the yeast, sugar, and water together but it all turned out fine. The bread is just great! This is a wonderful white bread recipe that I will be making again and again. My biggest confusion was that I had Bread Machine Yeast in a jar, not in a packet. After some searching I found that 2 1/4 teaspoons equals one packet of Bread Machine Yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
714 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I have to say, I was practically terrified making this bread. It went against the manufacturer's instructions on how to add ingredients (which firmly said to add yeast last, on top of flour). I also only had regular yeast & flour. But... I got my breadmaker yesterday for Christmas and had to try it. It was delicious! It turned out light and fluffy, despite all of my blundering. It wasn't dense at all, like with my mom's bread machine recipe. It tasted just like my grandmother's hand-made recipe- except without all the work! Thanks for the great recipe. Oh, and my third loaf is baking as I type this! *G*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
579 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I absolutely love this recipe. Some modifications that I make: I substitue the sugar with 2 very generous tablespoons of honey, add just a pinch extra salt and add 1 tablespoon of softened butter to the bread machine with the other ingredients. I only make the dough in the bread machine, then I take it out and put it in my silicone bread pan, split the top length wise with a knife and stuff the bread with pieces of butter (1 tablespoon total) then I brush the top of the bread with melted butter and bake in a 375 degree preheated oven for about 30 minutes. I also put a pan with water on the bottom of the oven, i just think the bread comes out so much better that way. My family loves this recipe, we use the bread for sandwiches, toast and just eat it plain! yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
500 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lobstergov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Conway, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LUBSY
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This is an excellent starter recipe. I make a few alterations though, as my family likes whole wheat... Here's my exact recipe. This makes a 2-lb loaf. 1-1/3 cups warm water (about 115°) 3.5 tsp bread machine yeast 1/4 cup sugar 1/3 cup oil 2 cups bread flour (essential to be bread flour!) 2 cups whole wheat flour 2 tbls gluten (or 1 tbls per cup of ww flour) 2 tsp salt 1/4 cup dry milk powder (makes the crust flaky) Follow the directions in the original recipe. I like to bake mine inthe oven however. I find that the dough cycle is actually too long on my machine if you use bread machine yeast (1.5 hours), because the end of it is a rise cycle, which I want done in my bread pan. The reason for this is that bread machine yeast actually cuts out the need for a second rise. So, after the final pulse cycle (you'll have to pay attention to your machine to see when this is -- mine is at 50 minutes into the dough cycle), take it out, shape it into your loaf and place it your pan to rise for 30 minutes. Then, bake it at 350° for about 25 minutes. Bread should be brown on top, not just golden. Let the loaf cool completely before cutting! I also like to smear the crust with butter to keep it soft, but if you like really crusty crust, then don't do that. I've tried many recipes, and this is by far the best basic bread recipe I've found. It's perfect for sandwiches, french toast, or anything else you'd use store-bought bread for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
345 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUBSY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This is the best bread machine recipe I have ever tried! It hits the window every time! Thank you Karen. I am using my bread machine every day now. I made a few changes to the recipe. I didn't have any bread machine flour or prepackaged yeast, so I use regular white flour and 2 teaspoons of quick rise yeast and it works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
If you're new at working with yeast and bread machines like I am, try this recipe - it's wonderful! And if you're avoiding it because it calls for packaged yeast and all you have is yeast in a jar (me again), check the jar - I found the equivilant measurement on the side. Who knew it could be this easy? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This recipe goes against the grain of any bread recipe I have ever seen or tried. Scary!!! Scary!!! Scary!!! But trust the recipe and try it - this was the best bread ever. Turned out so light, fluffy and just downright wonderful.... It turned out so well, that I threw out all the other bread recipes I had on file! This is my new number one, go to recipe!!! UPDATE: Try carmelizing onions, dicing them, and adding them plus 1/2 tsp of onion powder to the top of the ingredient mixture and let your bread machine do the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States