Best Bread Machine Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I've been baking bread for years and for some reason I was having terrible results with my bread maching recipes flopping. This recipe is amazing. A perfect loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tonk Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe to a T, so I feel I have the right to review this recipe. After all, if I had made modifications, then a review wouldn't be appropriate or accurate, right? ;) I've been making bread with a bread maker for almost 20 years and this recipe and method is the best basic white bread that has ever come out of my bread maker. So often, bread from a bread maker is on the heavy side and the bread texture is often times rather heavy. The bread, using this recipe came out with a delicious flakey crust and a nice and somewhat creamy interior. It was truly delicious and I don't plan on changing a thing. Thank you so much, shecooks2. I have saved this recipe to my recipe cookbook as a permanent fixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shane Chadwick
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I have tried countless recipes from this and other sites and this recipe makes the least dense, flaky bread I've found. I did up the salt to 1&1/2 teaspoons as suggested by another member and it makes it even lighter. Thanks for the recipe. It's our go to recipe for everything now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane Chadwick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I needed to add an additional 1/2cup of water. I have to do this to all of my bread machine recipes, and it was required for this recipe too. I also added 1/2tsp of salt. Best loaf I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daphne Wohlgemuth

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The bread rose and baked fine, but it's just WAY too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adjala, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I was afraid this wasn't going to rise because the directions require that you add the yeast to the water and not to the dry ingredients as is usually recommended. Instead it rose too much; puffing out to fill the top of the breadmaker, and as a result, not browning on top. I finished it in the oven under the broiler for a minute or two. I had to cut off the "muffin top" to be able to slice the rest of the loaf for sandwiches. Taste and texture very good for sandwiches. Might need to tweak this a little to get it to bake more uniformly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Found my old bread machine and no recipe book. This was the 1st recipe I used and will continue this one for white bread! Perfect! (1 pkt = 2 1/4 tsp yeast)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Proctor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Light, fluffy center w/ a crispy, flaky crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Followed the suggestions to swap in 1/2 cup wheat flour and extra 1/2 tsp salt. Also used canola oil instead of vegetable oil because that's all I had. Don't be afraid to ignore conventional bread machine use and add the ingredients as stated in the recipe. Amazing perfect bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
My got to recipe for go with soup. I add a little honey and bake at 375 for 30-40mins. Mmmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States