Best Braised Balsamic Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I was looking for a way to do a roast that wasn't the standard 'onion soup and mushroom' treatment. I followed the ingredient list to the letter. I followed the cooking method up to the braising time and temperature. I started out at 350F and after 1 hour turned the temp down to 300F. The roast was in the oven for a total of 5 hours. This was fall apart tender and also moist. The smell was great, the flavor was good and I still wanted more intensity in flavor with the end product. After taking the meat out and tenting with foil to let it rest, I took 1 1/2 cups of the juice from the pan, added 1 cup of a nice merlot, 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 2 T honey, 2 T balsamic vinegar, 1/2 tsp beef boullion, 1 T of Worcestershire and a few good shakes of Frank's Hot sauce. I reduced that on the stove top and thickened it just a tad with a little bit of a roux until I had a syrup like consistency. Pouring a bit of that over the meat after it was plated gave it just the distinct flavor that I had hoped for from the recipe itself. You could certainly serve this with the traditional potatoes and carrots if you wanted to, but I think it lends itself better to the treatment I gave it, allowing a lesser cut of meat to really shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
So good and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenknick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Made as specified in a cast dutch oven. Great flavor! The tomato in the pot did burn, so watch the fluid level while it roasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
First time making pot roast so I wanted something fairly simple and I never use recipes on allrecipes that don't have a lot of ratings but I figured why not, and I'm very glad I did. My boyfriend said this blew his moms pot roast outta the park (and shes a really good, experienced cook). Great job, SO moist, a lot of flavor, it was perfect! I approximated the measurements and only used 14 oz. of diced tomatoes, and some extra balsamic vinegar. Tomatoes were especially good! I covered a pan with foil and stuck it in the oven after I browned it. And I used a 2.5 lb pot roast so I only cooked it for 3 hrs. Kudos on the recipe, you did a great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I used italian seasoned crushed tomatoes and it tasted very similar to braciole. We all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
My family (tough critics) loved this. It has a robust flavor sometimes missing in braised beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAILYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beachwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Like another reviewer, I usually don't make things that don't have more reviewers, but I sure am glad I did. This was fantastic. Made it in a cast iron casserole and I think that makes a difference. Had 3 large onions on hand, but all were bad so I used a bag of frozen chopped onions I had on hand. Can't wait to make this again with fresh onions. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My new go-to pot-roast recipe. I had bought a Lodge cast-iron "chicken fryer" (a deep skillet with a cast-iron lid) expressly for pot roast. This recipe (made without departing from the posted recipe) came out perfect. I was a little concerned about using tomatoes in cast iron but didn't have any problems with that. The fact that this recipe doesn't include the usual potatoes and carrots allows the succulent beef to take all the glory (and frees you up to use other side dishes). Thanks, Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was excellent. Great Paleo recipe. My husband and kids loved it too. It was quite tender and tasty. I seared it on all sides over high heat and coated it generously with salt and pepper at the same time. It gave it a nice crust before roasting it in the oven. The balsamic and onions gave it a sweet and tangy taste. Yum!! So easy and yet to tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
You know it’s a testimony to an excellent cook when reviewers state that they followed the recipe “to the letter” and more often than not, that’s what I’m seeing here. I’m one of the guiltier cooks on all-recipes who pretty much Always changes something while preparing recipes and I gotta tell you, this is a First for me! Followed everything as directed by Jim from Chicago [well, except for an extra onion & a few cloves of garlic thrown in!! ;-\ ] & this was a smashing success!! Moist & tender, fall on the Floor delicious! Hubs got a slightly distressed expression when he noticed the can of crushed tomatoes on the counter previous to cooking as he was looking forward to the “usual” pot roast – ala onion soup variety & he’s not usually a fan of tomatoes in meat dishes but one bite of dinner tonight & he was a happy camper! I followed Dutchgirl’s suggestion and built her flavorful sauce as a gravy which went along pretty nicely with roasted potatoes & carrots – the reaction?? “OOhhhhh, Yeah!!” thumbs up in obvious satisfaction! Thanks Jim, for a wonderful change of pace which we will enjoy on a regular basis!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxessence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonville, New York, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States