Best Braised Balsamic Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I changed this up for the crockpot. I used 2 small beef chuck roasts and a couple random beef shanks I had in the freezer. I browned the meat in a skillet and put it in the crockpot with about 1c of beef broth. I added a couple tablespoons balsamic and red wine vinegar. About 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce and some Cholula hot sauce. Then I sauteed the onions in the meat drippings left in the skillet, once golden I added 1 can of diced tomatoes and some balsamic vinegar, and cooked until the liquid reduced some. I added it to the crockpot over and around the meat. Cooked on High for 2 hours then low for 3 hours. I removed the meat from the crockpot then cooked some fingerling potatoes and carrots, adding some beef broth to the remaining liquid. I also used some of the liquid to prepare quinoa in my rice cooker. This is a winner if you're looking for a change from the 'mushroom/onion soup' style roast. The only thing i will do different next time is add Marsala wine to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
You know it’s a testimony to an excellent cook when reviewers state that they followed the recipe “to the letter” and more often than not, that’s what I’m seeing here. I’m one of the guiltier cooks on all-recipes who pretty much Always changes something while preparing recipes and I gotta tell you, this is a First for me! Followed everything as directed by Jim from Chicago [well, except for an extra onion & a few cloves of garlic thrown in!! ;-\ ] & this was a smashing success!! Moist & tender, fall on the Floor delicious! Hubs got a slightly distressed expression when he noticed the can of crushed tomatoes on the counter previous to cooking as he was looking forward to the “usual” pot roast – ala onion soup variety & he’s not usually a fan of tomatoes in meat dishes but one bite of dinner tonight & he was a happy camper! I followed Dutchgirl’s suggestion and built her flavorful sauce as a gravy which went along pretty nicely with roasted potatoes & carrots – the reaction?? “OOhhhhh, Yeah!!” thumbs up in obvious satisfaction! Thanks Jim, for a wonderful change of pace which we will enjoy on a regular basis!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxessence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonville, New York, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was excellent. Great Paleo recipe. My husband and kids loved it too. It was quite tender and tasty. I seared it on all sides over high heat and coated it generously with salt and pepper at the same time. It gave it a nice crust before roasting it in the oven. The balsamic and onions gave it a sweet and tangy taste. Yum!! So easy and yet to tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My new go-to pot-roast recipe. I had bought a Lodge cast-iron "chicken fryer" (a deep skillet with a cast-iron lid) expressly for pot roast. This recipe (made without departing from the posted recipe) came out perfect. I was a little concerned about using tomatoes in cast iron but didn't have any problems with that. The fact that this recipe doesn't include the usual potatoes and carrots allows the succulent beef to take all the glory (and frees you up to use other side dishes). Thanks, Jim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Like another reviewer, I usually don't make things that don't have more reviewers, but I sure am glad I did. This was fantastic. Made it in a cast iron casserole and I think that makes a difference. Had 3 large onions on hand, but all were bad so I used a bag of frozen chopped onions I had on hand. Can't wait to make this again with fresh onions. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
My family (tough critics) loved this. It has a robust flavor sometimes missing in braised beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAILYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beachwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I used italian seasoned crushed tomatoes and it tasted very similar to braciole. We all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
First time making pot roast so I wanted something fairly simple and I never use recipes on allrecipes that don't have a lot of ratings but I figured why not, and I'm very glad I did. My boyfriend said this blew his moms pot roast outta the park (and shes a really good, experienced cook). Great job, SO moist, a lot of flavor, it was perfect! I approximated the measurements and only used 14 oz. of diced tomatoes, and some extra balsamic vinegar. Tomatoes were especially good! I covered a pan with foil and stuck it in the oven after I browned it. And I used a 2.5 lb pot roast so I only cooked it for 3 hrs. Kudos on the recipe, you did a great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Made as specified in a cast dutch oven. Great flavor! The tomato in the pot did burn, so watch the fluid level while it roasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
So good and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenknick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States