Best Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My family is picky to say the least and this was the first thing I have ever made that everyone went back for seconds on. I only made two small changes to cut back on the sweetness. I substituted Jim Beam for the Southern Comfort, and I substituted chicken stock for the fruit juice during the thicken stage at the very end. All in all, this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. I was unable to find the exact juice combination on the recpe so I used an apple/cranberry juice. I have made this recipe twice, the first time with chicken breasts and felt the chicken got too dry. The second time I used boneless skinless chicken thighs and that made the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Delish! We have this now about once a wk. We make a lot of chicken so it was nice to find another way to prepare it. I have always used "cran-grape" juice in place of the apple-grape-cherry juice and chicken broth instead of bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Substituted Grand Marnier for Southern Comfort and replaced the second amount of juice for broth - used it as a marninade for Ribs, SO TASTY! I'll definetly use it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by There's Lovin' in the oven ^_^

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I had all ingredients on hand except bourbon! But it still tasted like the bourbon chicken you can get at the food court which I really like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
There is a reason this is called "Best". It is!!!! Easy to follow directions and the chicken is not breaded! I did take the advice of others and omitted the juice altogether. I used the same measurement, but used chicken broth! My entire family loved this! This will easily be in the rotation at my house! Thanks for such a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is awesome. It tastes like a combination Orange Chicken and Bourbon chicken. I just used plain Bourbon (Maker's Mark) and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Absolutly fabulous!! I made this for my family with the bourbon slush drink, since I had leftover bourbon. As for the receipe I followed it to a tee except that I used cranapple juice instead of the apple-grape-cherry juice. We eat it with pork fried rice and spring rolls from our favorite chinese restuarant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I tried this lastnight for my family. I used half the sugar. i also used chicken broth instead of the juice and it came out really good. My family ate allof if and asked when we were having it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Delicious!!! Very tasty and simple to make. Wouldn't change a thing!! My family of four loved it and we had no leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States