Best Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was good, didn't taste like the bourbon chicken from the Cajun Grill Restaurant, but it was good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k-k-k-katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Delicious!!! Very tasty and simple to make. Wouldn't change a thing!! My family of four loved it and we had no leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is awesome. It tastes like a combination Orange Chicken and Bourbon chicken. I just used plain Bourbon (Maker's Mark) and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I substituted chicken broth for the apple-grape-cherry juice right off the bat... and it seemed plenty sweet to me. I also used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and it came out tasting just like the Bourbon chicken at the mall! Used Jack Daniels instead of Southern Comfort because that's what we had. After letting the chicken chunks simmer in the sauce for 20 minutes, I took out the chicken and cranked up the heat to med-high and boiled for a few minutes to help cook off some of the alcohol smell and reduce the sauce even more before whisking in the slurry mixture. In the future I may also reduce the amount of soy sauce. But overall this recipe, with the changes, was fantastic. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
There is a reason this is called "Best". It is!!!! Easy to follow directions and the chicken is not breaded! I did take the advice of others and omitted the juice altogether. I used the same measurement, but used chicken broth! My entire family loved this! This will easily be in the rotation at my house! Thanks for such a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very good flavor i add a little extra bourbon but i will def make again. bf loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Delish! We have this now about once a wk. We make a lot of chicken so it was nice to find another way to prepare it. I have always used "cran-grape" juice in place of the apple-grape-cherry juice and chicken broth instead of bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
The flavoring of the sauce was excellent however I would recommend using skinless thighs since the white meat got too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina7Nevada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I tried this lastnight for my family. I used half the sugar. i also used chicken broth instead of the juice and it came out really good. My family ate allof if and asked when we were having it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I had all ingredients on hand except bourbon! But it still tasted like the bourbon chicken you can get at the food court which I really like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States