Best Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Excellent flavor. It didn't start out with a sweet smell more of a soy sauce smell but let me tell you it sweetened up perfectly. Made exactly as directed except I did not remove chicken for the thickening step I just thickened it with the chicken in the pot saving a step. Yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
It was OK a bit too sweet for my likings, next time I'll actually try this with bourbon and play with it from there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDW3264

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Deposit, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was fantastic! After reading the reviews from people who thought it was too dry, I cut the simmer time down from 20 minutes to 10 minutes and thought it turned out great. Served it over rice and can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Great. Used a berry-blend juice for this chicken. I was amazed at how good it was. The chicken unfortunately got overcooked, so I'd quicken the sauce time and definitely keep an eye on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
My boyfriend asked for Bourbon Chicken a year and a half ago for his birthday, and this is what I fixed. I've made it about a dozen times since then, following the recipe more closely sometimes than others. I think I finally got it perfect tonight! I use a 2.5 lb bag of frozen chicken defrosted in the microwave and then diced, but this generates a lot of water, so I cut the cup of water out entirely. I've used one packed cup of dark brown sugar before, and that tasted pretty good, but lately I've been sticking with the light brown sugar (which is what the recipe calls for). I only use a loose cup, though, maybe a third of the sugar in a packed cup. I used straight diet cherry juice and cherry SoCo, too, and that added an amazing rich flavor. This recipe is definitely a favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Wise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Delicious!!!! It was devoured in minutes. The flavor is perfect. It's sweet with a little heat. I will continue to make this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
The bourbon was a little strong in my thoughts. I am a type of person whom loves to cook with it and beers, however, I do not like to smell of it strong. Baked in the oven on 350, for about 3 hours, and the sauce thickens as it cooks, but you can still smell the bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Fantastic. I used 2 frozen packs of skinless boneless thighs... About 12-18 of them. When done doing initial cooking of chicken, perhaps I had more broth than I was supposed to, since I ended up with a lot of sauce. had to add more thickener (corn starch mixed in tiny bit of cold water). I also cut up some green peppers and sauteed them separately in some of the sauce then added them to it, was great! Hubby said def. A keeper. Oh, juice- Mott's tot juice fruit punch: look at back- its apple grape &cherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelfadedblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Very good Recipe. I added 1/2 tablespoon of Garam Masala(Punjabi Style) and 1/2 teaspoon of Hot Curry Powder(Madras-style curry). Its still Bourbon Chicken with a splash of India. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States