Best Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I make this all the time. Great recipe. My kiddos love it. I leave out the booze but other than that exactly the same. Thanks for sharing on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Used thighs, 1/4 cup less water and 1 tbsp extra of corn starch. Family loves it. I made these minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This sauce was so flavorful and fun to make. How do you keep the chicken from drying out as it is set aside during the last simmer of the sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I really liked this yet felt it was a little too sweet so next time I will add more heat seasoning....but overall the flavor blend was wonderful. I had extra sauce so I put it in a jar for another meal. thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I always tweak recipes, mainly using them for inspiration. My main tweak was..just orange juice, not others, teriyaki sauce not soy,brown sugar splenda not sugar. Made quinoa and stir fry veggies using my chicken sauce very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Excellent! Like many of the other reviews, I substituted chicken stock for the juice. I didn't have minced onion so I put in about half a chopped onion. The other thing I did was just to throw all of the ingredients in the crockpot, except the cornstarch. When the chicken pieces were cooked, I took them out temporarily and whisked in the corn starch. Then I added the chicken back in and let it simmer for a few hours more. I think that cooking it in the crockpot keeps the chicken moist. So easy and I normally keep all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Delicious! I also substituted chicken broth for the juice, cut back on the red pepper flakes, as my kids don't like spicy. But I did add green and red peppers and then some green onions at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
My entire family like this dish, two of them are the pickyest of eaters. I did make a few changes based on the fact I wanted a dish more like at the food court and I didn't have all ingredients on had. To start with I used 1/2 inch pieces of chicken to decrease cooking time. Before browning the chicken I tossed the pieces in a 50/50 mixture of corn starch and AP flour. You do need a bit more oil when browning,(u used veg oil with a couple tbs of sesame oil to add that real oriental flavor) I did it in three seperate batches so as not to crowd my pot. You'll have some nice brown bits on the bottom to add to the flavor of your sauce. Instead of the fruit juice I used juice from one can of fruit coctail and another can of peaches and about 1/2 cup of grape jelly. I put in 4 diced scallions for added onion flavor. I also used dark brown sugar and a full tsp of ginger and 2 tbs of serachi sauce. Make sure to scape the bottom to get those browned bits up that will help thicken your sauce(you will still need to corn starch to thicken a bit). I seved with home made fried rice....will be making this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made this tonight, and it was fantastic. I had grape/cherry juice, and added a little pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Excellent flavor. It didn't start out with a sweet smell more of a soy sauce smell but let me tell you it sweetened up perfectly. Made exactly as directed except I did not remove chicken for the thickening step I just thickened it with the chicken in the pot saving a step. Yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States