Best Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Very good. I didn't use soy sauce and didn't have enough brown sugar, so I substituted a cup of brown sugar and 2 tbsp of molasses. The sauce was pretty sweet, but I also didn't have crushed red pepper flakes. Some spicy Mrs. Dash at the end didn't punch it up enough, but I am sure some spice will cut the sweetness nicely. My own personal twist: with about 5 minutes of cook time left, I diced a peach into fairly large chunks and threw them in. They came out soft and delicious. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very good, but definitely too sweet. And, I only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Next time, I'll use chicken broth instead of fruit juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My family is picky to say the least and this was the first thing I have ever made that everyone went back for seconds on. I only made two small changes to cut back on the sweetness. I substituted Jim Beam for the Southern Comfort, and I substituted chicken stock for the fruit juice during the thicken stage at the very end. All in all, this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Substituted Grand Marnier for Southern Comfort and replaced the second amount of juice for broth - used it as a marninade for Ribs, SO TASTY! I'll definetly use it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by There's Lovin' in the oven ^_^

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. I was unable to find the exact juice combination on the recpe so I used an apple/cranberry juice. I have made this recipe twice, the first time with chicken breasts and felt the chicken got too dry. The second time I used boneless skinless chicken thighs and that made the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I had all ingredients on hand except bourbon! But it still tasted like the bourbon chicken you can get at the food court which I really like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I tried this lastnight for my family. I used half the sugar. i also used chicken broth instead of the juice and it came out really good. My family ate allof if and asked when we were having it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
The flavoring of the sauce was excellent however I would recommend using skinless thighs since the white meat got too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina7Nevada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Delish! We have this now about once a wk. We make a lot of chicken so it was nice to find another way to prepare it. I have always used "cran-grape" juice in place of the apple-grape-cherry juice and chicken broth instead of bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very good flavor i add a little extra bourbon but i will def make again. bf loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States