Best Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I substituted chicken broth for the apple-grape-cherry juice right off the bat... and it seemed plenty sweet to me. I also used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and it came out tasting just like the Bourbon chicken at the mall! Used Jack Daniels instead of Southern Comfort because that's what we had. After letting the chicken chunks simmer in the sauce for 20 minutes, I took out the chicken and cranked up the heat to med-high and boiled for a few minutes to help cook off some of the alcohol smell and reduce the sauce even more before whisking in the slurry mixture. In the future I may also reduce the amount of soy sauce. But overall this recipe, with the changes, was fantastic. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
There is a reason this is called "Best". It is!!!! Easy to follow directions and the chicken is not breaded! I did take the advice of others and omitted the juice altogether. I used the same measurement, but used chicken broth! My entire family loved this! This will easily be in the rotation at my house! Thanks for such a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very good flavor i add a little extra bourbon but i will def make again. bf loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Delish! We have this now about once a wk. We make a lot of chicken so it was nice to find another way to prepare it. I have always used "cran-grape" juice in place of the apple-grape-cherry juice and chicken broth instead of bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
The flavoring of the sauce was excellent however I would recommend using skinless thighs since the white meat got too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina7Nevada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I tried this lastnight for my family. I used half the sugar. i also used chicken broth instead of the juice and it came out really good. My family ate allof if and asked when we were having it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I had all ingredients on hand except bourbon! But it still tasted like the bourbon chicken you can get at the food court which I really like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. I was unable to find the exact juice combination on the recpe so I used an apple/cranberry juice. I have made this recipe twice, the first time with chicken breasts and felt the chicken got too dry. The second time I used boneless skinless chicken thighs and that made the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Substituted Grand Marnier for Southern Comfort and replaced the second amount of juice for broth - used it as a marninade for Ribs, SO TASTY! I'll definetly use it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by There's Lovin' in the oven ^_^

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My family is picky to say the least and this was the first thing I have ever made that everyone went back for seconds on. I only made two small changes to cut back on the sweetness. I substituted Jim Beam for the Southern Comfort, and I substituted chicken stock for the fruit juice during the thicken stage at the very end. All in all, this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chef John's Chicken French

See how to make tender, tasty chicken in a simple wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States