Best Bobotie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I would use a smaller pan next time so it's not spread so thin. I couldn't find hot chutney, so I just added some red pepper powder to regular chutney. Used a food processor to mince the onions. Pretty tasty, I'll make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
To avoid excessive sweetness, increase the amount of Chutney from one to three tablespoons, and eliminate the jam. (Jam is an American addition, not a part of the original recipe). A little sugar is ok to balance the curry and other spices, but not the fruit. Our recipe is based on 2 lbs of lean ground beef - or lamb w/ the bread. The diced onion browned in oil, 3 T of curry powder, 3 T of chutney (chopped fine), 3 T vinegar, ½ t salt, 1 T sugar, 1 diced apple, ½ C raisins, and many bay leaves - stuck into the top like pegs, milk on top as described. Bake at 325-350 for 35-40 min - use a thermometer so you don't cook it to death! Center wants to be med/rare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Very Yummy, I think I will use less raisins next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I loved this recipe. I used a milder mango chutney because I no not like things too spicy. I was hesitant to add the egg mixture but it added just the right amount of creamy gooness. I did add 2 tbsp of flour to the eggs so it would not be too runny. FABULOUS! I will maked this again and again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Great Recipe! My husband is from Cape Town, South Africa and so It really reminded him of home. Only suggestion would be to use a smaller pan than a 9x13..Otherwise it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmalee17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ana C
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was the very first time I had ever made or eaten bobotie, but my whole family really enjoyed it! I almost always substitute ground turkey for ground beef, and in this case I used a whole two pounds of the turkey. The only other difference was that I reduced the cooking time. I just baked mine right in a cast-iron skillet for about 45 minutes before adding the egg and then cooking it for another 25 minutes. This turned out just right, and if I had cooked it much longer, it probably would have burned. This really is an excellent recipe! I am happy that I stumbled upon it and we will definitely be having this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I have used other bobotie recipes, but this one is my favorite. The ingredients blend well for an interesting flavor. As mentioned in other reviews, I used a smaller baking dish because I didn't want the meat to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
A little too sweet for my liking, but my boyfriend came up with a brilliant idea to spread the apricot jam on top and serve it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
One of my employees introduced me to some African dishes...now I'm obsessed. The Bobotie is awesome! Very easy to make. Meatloaf on steroids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States