Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I seldom like beans but I loved this. I followed everyone else's tips and sauteed the chopped onion and garlic, rinsed the beans, made up for the liquid with 1/3 cup water and one beef bouillon cube and added the juice of half a lime. Add salt, sugar and cilantro to taste. Delicious with toasted corn tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Love this recipe! My 11 month old and 4 year old both gobble this up (I usually simmer for 20 min or so, so the beans are nice and soft for a baby with 2 teeth :). Even good if you don't have cilantro! I never really made black beans before I found this recipe, now I make them all the time. Great for a fiber-ious lunch put in a quesadilla :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Made this for Cinco de Mayo and even the non-bean eaters loved it. I did take the recommendations of others to rinse the beans very well and replace the liquid with chicken stock. I sauteed the onions until translucent then added the garlic for 1 minute. I added Badia Complete Seasoning at the end with juice of 1 fresh lime. I served it with Mexican Rice III (this site) and Mammoth Burritos (diff site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Totally awesome!! My husband and I loved it. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you Cameron :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Best Black Beans Haiku: "Yup, they ARE the best. I add a splash of sherry. So easy to make!" Well golly, fast to throw together and very tasty - complements just about any entree, or would probably be just as good rolled up in a tortilla w/ some fajita chicken. Can't believe I'm just finding this recipe now; DAMNYUMYUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Great taste, easy to make, healthy... A winner! I rinsed the beans and added some veg broth. Sauteed the onion and garlic before adding to beans. The cayenne pepper and cilantro are perfect in this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Tasty, basic recipe. Next time I might add a small can of chopped green chiles for more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
nothing specifically wrong, or right, with this recipe. it did turn out good, i took another's suggestion to rinse and use chicken stock for the liquid, but i think i just prefer plain, black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gojengo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
excellent, followed exactly! tried in the crock pot and wasn't as good, advise cooking on stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
GOOD Adds to Mexican meal, but just beans really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States