Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Simple, but delicious. Even though the beans are canned, the cilantro gives it a freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I had never made black bean before, so I decided to try to recipe... I was reading the reviews and saw one that the person rinsed the beans and then added them to chicken stock, I did just that, 2 cups of water and 2 chicken bouillon cubs. The only thing I did not use on this recipe is the cayenne pepper. These turned out wonderful. I never thought I would like black beans, however, I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly (which is saying something around here) and it was delicious! The whole family loved it. Took me straight back to Costa Rica. LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
These were easy and very good, and I didn't even have any cilantro to add. Cilantro would take these to an even higher level. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andyman213
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I rarely use canned goods anymore, but I decided to try this recipe and it was delicious. I only used a very small amount of yellow onion, chopped fine, included one green onion, chopped thin, and quickly sauteed those with the garlic in a drop of olive oil just to make the flavors burst. It was spectacular! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Perfect and easy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Loved it. I served over coconut rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dommiedime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Healthy, taste great and quick to make. 5 STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This works even when you don't have fresh cilantro--adding citrus peel, or tumeric, or sour cream (greek yogurt), or a pat of butter, you get the idea, give you endless variations! I drained off most of the starch by rinsing as kitchendiva suggested of the canned beans first before cooking to help the other flavors come thru. I have vegetarian and non-vegetarian family to cook for, and on those nights when I make a meat entree (chicken curry) this is one of the easiest and quickest way to add a good protein for my veggie guy With the rice and chutneys that are curry sides, this is perfect and actually finish up the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great! Like another reviewer advised I added a little chicken broth, also added a little salsa. Made for my Mother and Father on Christmas Eve, my Mother told me afterwards that she had never liked black beans and she just tried them to be polite. After trying them she went back for seconds and has made them herself since that night! Awesome recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States