Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I needed a base recipe to go by to make a can of black beans for the first time. I used the ingredients and amounts in the recipe but sauteed my onions and garlic on low for about 15 minutes. I rinsed and drained the beans and added them to the onion/garlic mixture and added cilantro, chilli powder, cumin, salt, and cayenne pepper. Before I added the spices, I tried it and it was very bland. After adding enough salt and more spices, I got it to taste very well. I did not cook down my beans as long as I should have but the flavor was what I was going for. Added a little lime on it afterwards too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by > AE <

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orefield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I liked this, but think it would have been better if I had sauteed the onion and garlic first. I rinsed the black beans (the "juice" that they're in is very high in sodium plus harder on the digestion) and then covered them in low sodium veggie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZombieT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This is an easy, delicious, healthy and cheap side dish! I followed KitchenDiva's modifications (rinse beans, saute onion and garlic first and add a can of chicken broth) and added a big squeeze of lime before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Strasburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Excellent black beans with a good, slightly spicy flavor. I left the cilantro out because I was serving this with cilantro lime rice. I am vegan so this was my main dish and I served with a side of broccoli. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
You werent kidding, these are the best black beans ive ever had. I cooked the onions in a spot of oil for about 5 mins before adding the beans with liquid. Slow cooked this for about 30 mins before adding the seasoning. Really made them thick and delicious, I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I usually just heated up a can of black beans to put over rice, but this made them taste so good! I did change it a bit. I skipped the cilantro and the cayenne and added some fresh diced tomatoes a few minutes before I took them off the heat. I was never a big fan of black beans, but I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States