Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Easy and tasted great. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Rated 3 stars for recipe "as is" because using the canned liquid is yucky. But with the tweeks others suggested, I give 5 stars as an delicious way to do black beans. First I cooked diced onions in butter until caramelized, added lots of fresh garlic, seasoned with S/P, 1 tsp cumin, and 1Tblsp hot chili powder because that's what I had on hand. Then used chicken broth as liquid with the rinsed beans.... Brought to boil, simmered covered about 30 mins, then cooked uncovered til thickened. Dressed with fresh cilantro and squeeze of lime before serving. It was a hit with my friends and family for Mexican night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Simple, fast and tastes great. The cayenne pepper is a really nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Best I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngelUpSideDownCake
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This was really good! I drained and rinsed my beans and replaced the liquid with water and a veggie stock cube. It was delicious over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This recipe was really simple and delicious. My first time picky eaters and 3 year old twin daughters even ate it. I'm a stickler for flavor and this had just the right amount to go with my burritos. The only thing I changed was the cloves of garlic, I put a pinch of garlic powder in instead and I microwaved them for 5 mins. Perfect side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa Renea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Great side dish with Mexican food. Used the liquid from one can so it wouldn't be so watery and skipped the cilantro since I'm not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I always "doctor" my beans out of a can... whether it been baked beans, ranch style bean or now black beans... I served this with a Ropa Vieja. It made a nice side to go with it. Simple yet versatile..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I love making this recipe. I read the reviews and put the suggestions together. I saute the onion and garlic, drain and rinse the beans, add chicken broth, bring to a boil and simmer for 30 minutes and add lime juice and then cilantro. Non bean eaters will even eat this. Delish! I don't add salt as it's in the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
definitely the best black beans Ive had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States