Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Wow - these definitely are some of the "Best Black Beans" I've had in a while! It sort of reminds me of something I had in a restaurant as a side dish a while back, but better! Who knew something so easy could taste so good - plus it's good for you too! Excellent served warm with a dollup of sour cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Easy side for any night. Quick and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
My husband loved this. Normally we cook the onion and garlic in broth and then add the beans, but I followed the recipe and he liked it better. I used a little less than 1/4 tsp cayenne...and probably will use less next time :P I added a little vegetable broth to "boil" the beans, as well as a bit of pepper. I simmered for maybe 15 minutes and then I added a few squirts of lime juice and a few shakes of dried cilantro (couldn't really taste it, but I didn't want to overdo it). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I feel guilty because I've been making this recipe at least weekly for almost two years and have never reviewed it. I just think it is magical how one can turn a simple can of black beans into such perfection! Based on other reviews, I made the following modifications: saute the onions and garlic in oil before adding the other ingredients. when I have it, I use fresh coconut oil to saute, which adds a nice Caribbean feel to it. Thank you so much for this recipe! I can't believe I lived without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
i added black pepper, crushed red pepper, and doubled the garlic & extra onion for this recipe ~ can do with or without cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
As written, I give the recipe 4 stars. Based on other reviews, I rinsed the beans in cold water to clean off preservatives & decrease gas. Then I added 1/2 cup of beef broth (could use chicken) to replace liquid. I sauted onions and garlic until golden brown and added them to the pot of beans. I brought beans to a boil and then let simmer uncovered for 15 minutes to blend flavors. I added cilantro to the pot a few minutes before putting in serving dish. Got many compliments at the Mexican potluck dinner tonight, and my serving bowl was practically licked clean, lol. That's always a good sign. Next time, I will try allowing them to simmer on low for a few hours in a crockpot to mix the flavors even more. I left out the cayenne, and I will add that or chili powder next time. Adding a garnish of chopped green onions and sour cream sounds yummy, too. Thanks for this great recipe and all of the wonderful ideas from readers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Simple, fast, and delicious. I made black beans for the first time using this recipe, and it turned out to be wonderful. I used Goya black beans, drained about half of the water, and also mashed them a little while simmering - that way, they turned out thicker. Other than that, I made the beans exactly the same. Thank you for sharing this simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Everytime I make black beans at home, I find there is something missing. Finally, I've found an easy, delicious black bean recipe. Instead of cayenne, I used chili powder (because everytime I use cayenne I use too much and end up throwing out the dish), and as another reviewer suggested, I sauteed my onion in a bit of olive oil prior to adding everything else. The cilantro is a MUST and I squirted a little lime juice at the end for extra flavor. This is my new "go-to" recipe for black beans. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGRMAG574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
sauted the garlic, added drained and rinsed beans and added chicken stock for liquid to simmer. was best I've made. sprinkled some cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Very good and very quick to make. I sauteed my onions and garlic first and I cooked the whole mixture for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States