Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This works even when you don't have fresh cilantro--adding citrus peel, or tumeric, or sour cream (greek yogurt), or a pat of butter, you get the idea, give you endless variations! I drained off most of the starch by rinsing as kitchendiva suggested of the canned beans first before cooking to help the other flavors come thru. I have vegetarian and non-vegetarian family to cook for, and on those nights when I make a meat entree (chicken curry) this is one of the easiest and quickest way to add a good protein for my veggie guy With the rice and chutneys that are curry sides, this is perfect and actually finish up the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great! Like another reviewer advised I added a little chicken broth, also added a little salsa. Made for my Mother and Father on Christmas Eve, my Mother told me afterwards that she had never liked black beans and she just tried them to be polite. After trying them she went back for seconds and has made them herself since that night! Awesome recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Very good as written, better than most restaurant fare, yet still needed a little something to really make it sing. I added 1/8 teaspoon cumin to increase the Mexican profile, and a splash of lime juice for zing. The cilantro went in right before serving to keep it's flavor bright. I garnished each serving with queso fresco for flair. Result? The Best Black Beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I loved the flavor of these black beans! I subbed cumin for the cilantro because my fiance and I aren't big cilantro fans, and I didn't add any salt. I would recommend cutting the onion way down, though. I used less than half a large onion instead of a whole small one, but it still seemed like I was having beans with my onions. About a quarter of a large onion would be plenty OR you could double the beans since they will be great as leftovers. Thanks for sharing! This is in my permanent rotation since we are big south-of-the-border food lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
It was pretty good, but WAY too much cilantro and way too much garlic. U need to double the amount of black beans and 1/3 of the cilantro and garlic it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgangary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
yummy! I sauteed the onions and garlic in a bit of olive oil and then added the black beans. also added some cumin and a bay leaf and cooked for a bit longer than in recipe. served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Easy. I didn't mean to, but I ate the whole pot. I added 1T chili powder and lime juice. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Easy way to dress up a simple can of beans. I've had them in my cabinet for a while, but didn't want to fix them plain. I used KitchenDiva's advice - cooking the onion and garlic before adding the beans, and replaced the juice with chicken broth. I didn't measure out the cayenne, but I wish I had since we couldn't even taste it. Husband and I both liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I thought this turned out pretty good. super easy. I did have to add a bit more seasoning for my taste and didn't have cayenne pepper so i used taco seasoning. I actually ended up adding a some shredded cheese then dipped chips in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bekfrisk
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Yes, HBschoolgirl, this is a perfectly good alternative to homemade! Kudos to Cameron for adding the cayenne and fresh cilantro (nice touch) and being creative. I use canned beans occasionally and appreciate the convenience. Good job, Cameron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary B

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States