Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
The beans came out with a nice zest, which was nice since they didn't really come out as that spicy. It was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anni Larson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was pretty tasty, my wife on the other hand didn't like the added kick so i won't use the cayenne anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Pendleton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clewiston, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Made this last night for a birthday party for adult son. Everyone raved about this dish. I doubled the recipe, didn't add any more salt and partially drained one can of beans. I also let it simmer longer while the rest of the dinner came together. Served it with Mexican rice III from this sight, a big green salad along with chicken and beef tacos with all the toppings. Dinner was delicious and we have hardly any leftovers for tonight's dinner. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe as-is!! Keep in mind- these are quite spicy!! However, they are fairly complex in flavor, and simple to make. I generally cheat a little bit with fresh pre-diced onions from the produce section, jarred minced garlic, and dried cilantro, but even with these shortcuts, this recipe is fantastic!! I will note that you'll want to make sure you are making the correct amount for immediate consumption, as most of the flavor will be gone after sitting in the refrigerator overnight, or longer. I love the recipe how it is, however I happen to have reduced-sodium black beans on hand, and even when using these, and not adding any salt, they are still great, in case anybody is trying to minimize Sodium. Fantastic recipe- give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian O'Toole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Easily the best Black Beans that I have tried. I made one revision using a tip from another reviewer. I drained and rinsed the black beans then added broth to replace the liquid. Beans were very flavorful and went well with our Mexican themed dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Great! I used canned beans, sauted a little onion and garlic. Do not omit fresh cilantro! I will make this part of the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHPAWCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
These beans have a lot of flavor--loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Great flavor for such a simple recipe. I took others' recommendations and rinsed the beans and used about 1/3-1/2 cup of chicken brother. IMO, 5 mins is not nearly long enough to cook the onions. I ended up simmering the beans for about 15 mins with a lid on the pot, then I took the lid off and simmered an additional 5 mins to thicken everything up. I added the cayenne with the garlic and onions, and stirred in the cilantro right before serving. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
These were amazing, and I even used dried cilantro since I didn't have any fresh on hand. I can only imagine what they taste like with fresh! I thought "this recipe is way too simple to produce great black beans." I was way wrong, they taste just like they're from a mexican restaurant! I did follow other reviewers suggestions and rinsed the beans then used chicken broth as a simmering liquid. The next day I combined the leftovers with white rice & other mexi toppings for a great burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States