Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
I had to do some doctoring to make it work for my taste. 5 minutes is not enough to cook the beans, and there's not enough seasoning to compliment the amount of onion required. It ended up tasting like hot onions and cilantro. I recommend a longer cooking time in order to allow the flavor to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
This is a good base for a recipe. I drained the liquid from the can (to prevent gas as other users recommended) and replaced it with chicken stock (to add more flavor). I sauteed the onions first. I added cumin, all purpose seasoning and the tiniest bit of cinnamon. They were a hit with my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
This is a great side dish for a Mexican dinner night. Just a little heat to add a zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Made this tonight. Very good recipe, nice doctoring of canned black beans. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie-0-Toole

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Loved loved loved this super simple and easy yet delicious recipe! I did add freshly squeezed lemon juice at the end to my beans added a little extra depth to it! I also sautéed the onions in a little bit of extra virgin olive oil then added the beans. Will be making this weekly now!! I can use it in so many different meals!! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gianna Petrosyan
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I seldom like beans but I loved this. I followed everyone else's tips and sauteed the chopped onion and garlic, rinsed the beans, made up for the liquid with 1/3 cup water and one beef bouillon cube and added the juice of half a lime. Add salt, sugar and cilantro to taste. Delicious with toasted corn tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Love this recipe! My 11 month old and 4 year old both gobble this up (I usually simmer for 20 min or so, so the beans are nice and soft for a baby with 2 teeth :). Even good if you don't have cilantro! I never really made black beans before I found this recipe, now I make them all the time. Great for a fiber-ious lunch put in a quesadilla :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Made this for Cinco de Mayo and even the non-bean eaters loved it. I did take the recommendations of others to rinse the beans very well and replace the liquid with chicken stock. I sauteed the onions until translucent then added the garlic for 1 minute. I added Badia Complete Seasoning at the end with juice of 1 fresh lime. I served it with Mexican Rice III (this site) and Mammoth Burritos (diff site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Totally awesome!! My husband and I loved it. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you Cameron :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Best Black Beans Haiku: "Yup, they ARE the best. I add a splash of sherry. So easy to make!" Well golly, fast to throw together and very tasty - complements just about any entree, or would probably be just as good rolled up in a tortilla w/ some fajita chicken. Can't believe I'm just finding this recipe now; DAMNYUMYUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States