Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Perfect as written for super fast weeknight cooking. I had a little more time so I also added canned chipotles in adobo sauce and a few tablespoons of the cooking liquid from the pork roast I had in the crock pot. Simmered for 20 minutes then mashed about half of the black beans for more of a "refried beans" type side. I also topped with a little bit of shredded smoked gouda cheese. Everyone loved it. Rinse the beans first for fresher taste and less sodium. I served this along with pork roast and yellow rice. I added sauteed onion and diced canned green chiles to the yellow rice then garnished the rice with sliced green onions. I had just a little bit leftover the next day so I reheated with a tablespoon of salsa then made a burrito. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I thought it was ok but my toddler loved it. So I will be making it again for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Doubled the spices as suggested by other reviews. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Great. I rinsed the beans off first. I also added some bacon pieces to sautee with onions and garlic. Then added some low sodium ckn broth to let them simmer in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
The beans came out with a nice zest, which was nice since they didn't really come out as that spicy. It was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anni Larson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was pretty tasty, my wife on the other hand didn't like the added kick so i won't use the cayenne anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Pendleton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clewiston, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Made this last night for a birthday party for adult son. Everyone raved about this dish. I doubled the recipe, didn't add any more salt and partially drained one can of beans. I also let it simmer longer while the rest of the dinner came together. Served it with Mexican rice III from this sight, a big green salad along with chicken and beef tacos with all the toppings. Dinner was delicious and we have hardly any leftovers for tonight's dinner. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe as-is!! Keep in mind- these are quite spicy!! However, they are fairly complex in flavor, and simple to make. I generally cheat a little bit with fresh pre-diced onions from the produce section, jarred minced garlic, and dried cilantro, but even with these shortcuts, this recipe is fantastic!! I will note that you'll want to make sure you are making the correct amount for immediate consumption, as most of the flavor will be gone after sitting in the refrigerator overnight, or longer. I love the recipe how it is, however I happen to have reduced-sodium black beans on hand, and even when using these, and not adding any salt, they are still great, in case anybody is trying to minimize Sodium. Fantastic recipe- give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian O'Toole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Easily the best Black Beans that I have tried. I made one revision using a tip from another reviewer. I drained and rinsed the black beans then added broth to replace the liquid. Beans were very flavorful and went well with our Mexican themed dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States