Best Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Great taste, easy to make, healthy... A winner! I rinsed the beans and added some veg broth. Sauteed the onion and garlic before adding to beans. The cayenne pepper and cilantro are perfect in this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Tasty, basic recipe. Next time I might add a small can of chopped green chiles for more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
nothing specifically wrong, or right, with this recipe. it did turn out good, i took another's suggestion to rinse and use chicken stock for the liquid, but i think i just prefer plain, black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gojengo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
excellent, followed exactly! tried in the crock pot and wasn't as good, advise cooking on stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
GOOD Adds to Mexican meal, but just beans really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Perfect as written for super fast weeknight cooking. I had a little more time so I also added canned chipotles in adobo sauce and a few tablespoons of the cooking liquid from the pork roast I had in the crock pot. Simmered for 20 minutes then mashed about half of the black beans for more of a "refried beans" type side. I also topped with a little bit of shredded smoked gouda cheese. Everyone loved it. Rinse the beans first for fresher taste and less sodium. I served this along with pork roast and yellow rice. I added sauteed onion and diced canned green chiles to the yellow rice then garnished the rice with sliced green onions. I had just a little bit leftover the next day so I reheated with a tablespoon of salsa then made a burrito. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I thought it was ok but my toddler loved it. So I will be making it again for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Doubled the spices as suggested by other reviews. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Great. I rinsed the beans off first. I also added some bacon pieces to sautee with onions and garlic. Then added some low sodium ckn broth to let them simmer in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
The beans came out with a nice zest, which was nice since they didn't really come out as that spicy. It was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anni Larson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States