Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I Love this recipe. I have even altered it to make peanut butter cookies. I only use half of a cup of butter and add a cup of peanut butter. I always use parchment paper and I take them out just before they are completely set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I've been using this recipe for a few years now. Everyone begs me for them! I've had many a bake-out with these and won! Don't change anything about the recipe. The trick to making them the right texture is to make sure your butter is soft but still cold and really beat the eggs in for a few minutes until the batter looks fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Qualls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I did not read correctly and did not melt butter, instead I just mixed dry and wet ingredients separately then combined. Also shaped into balls, slightly flattened to cook. Turned out average , 45 or so cookies. May repeat following instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I was prompted to review after reading others saying these were hard and not chewy. This is the only recipe I use for chocolate chip cookies and make them a lot (more than I should). And every now & then a batch comes out crunchy and not chewy. I am not sure what I do wrong or differently on these occasions but it happens. I don't fault the recipe for it. The majority of the time they come out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennygurl
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I am so bummed out! I followed the recipe exactly…or so I thought. :/ My first batch came out with flattened cookies, so I refrigerated the rest of the dough for about 3 hours prior to baking, and also baked at a lower temp/longer time as some suggested. Same result...but worse. I cannot figure out what I did wrong. I’d like to try these again sometime, as I see so many positive feedback posts here, but I’m a little hesitant, because every chocolate chip cookie recipe I’ve ever tried has resulted in flat cookies. Boo. They tasted ok, but not worth 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
what if i only have salted butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I feel so silly for asking lol but unlike grabbing cookies from the store and rolling them in a ball... You don't do that here right for this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was a decent cookie. Definitely recommend your refrigerate the dough for at least 30 minutes. I added walnuts. Tasted good, but felt like something was missing. Still overall a good cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I bake. A lot. I tried the recipe as written because...well...that's fair, right? It was excellent. As a matter of fact the only thing I changed the second time around was to add an additional TB of vanilla because--I like it. For me, it just gave the cookies a bit more flavor. Also, I dished out my dough with a medium sized ice cream scooper and placed in the fridge for about an hour. Then baked as directed. (Mine took about 14.5 minutes in a convection oven) The rise from the chilling was incredible. Nice cold butter does that and it's a lovely thing. I have made these several times now. I've used all kinds of chips and I've used different kinds of nuts. Great, versatile dough. I read a review in which someone said they added a bit if cinnamon. I can totally see how that would add if you like that underlying hit of flavor. I think I'll try it next batch. They really do look like something you'd get at a bakery...only they taste so much better. The recipe is solid. Yields the same result every time. Yields the amount listed as far as quantity. It's a forgiving recipe--additions are easy and don't ruin the integrity of the product. A keeper. Definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
These were yummy but a little to sweet for our tastes. Also, I didn't melt the butter because I do use organic and that is much creamier than regular I would still suggest refrigerating them as they did flatten when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States