Best Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I left out the Burgundy because I didn't have any on hand. I wouldn't recommend adding the raw steak to the cooking onion mixture. It doesn't develop a beef flavor. Better to brown the beef in a separate pan and add it, together with some of the juices, to the onion mixture. 14 ounces of consomme makes a pretty liquid sauce. If you have absorbent noodles they will take some of the liquid. But I'd recommend making the thickening liquid (flour and water) with 3 tablespoons of flour. You don't have to use the whole amount, just add as necessary. (I ended up using 3 Tbs of flour). Either that, or start by using only 9-10 ounces of the consomme and adding more as needed to keep the sauce at the right consistency. As to the lemon juice, that can really overpower a dish. I took 1/2 of a lemon and "forked" it over the pan a couple of times. I probably added less than 1/2 of a teaspoon. A little fresh lemon juice goes a long way. These exceptions aside, this is a really nice and easy recipe. I wouldn't hesitate to serve it to company. Thanks for letting us have this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I think this recipe turned out really well. I did make a few changes...I tossed the raw sliced meat with salt, pepper and about 2 tablespoons of flour. Then I browned the meat BEFORE I cooked the onions, etc. Once the meat was browned I removed it from the pan with the "gravy" that was made from the drippings and the flour. Then I added a bit more butter to the pan and sauteed the onions and garlic in the SAME pan - this way you get the flavor from the leftover drippings and browned pieces in the pan (some reviews said the flavor was bland so I thought this could help). I also cooked the mushrooms longer than the recipe called for to cook out more moisture since many previous reviews said the sauce was too runny. I also used 1/2 the amount of onions called for, added a few glugs of Brandy rather than Burgundy (I didn't want my sauce to be reddish), and didn't use quite as much lemon juice as called for in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I loved this recipe for stroganoff. The lemon did make it! As for the other reviewers who said it was too thin of a sauce, I must remind you to use consomme and not broth. I bet this is what makes the difference. Consomme has gelatin added. I used consomme, and my sauce was plenty thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Oh My Gosh!! This is the best recipe I have ever found! The wine and sour cream are so perfect together! We enjoy ours best over rice and I could easily make it once a week and no one in the house would complain. I do, however, eat most of my fill as I cook!!! So fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Flavor was great, had no leftovers! However, the sauce was a little too thin for my liking so I would probably decrease the broth next time. The recipe also didn't make as much as anticipated for the number of servings it was supposed to result in. Maybe my crew are just big eaters?! To feed 4 adults, I would use the full 8 servings recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
We followed the recipe to the tee, except we browned the meat first which is definitely the way to go. We have had better results from other beef stroganoff recipes. We probably will not use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Added 1 tbls dijon mustard for extra flavor. Delicious and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was very simple tto make..i made one change.Instead of mixing the flour with water i used the beef broth and increased the flour to three instead of two tablespoons..and added a little salt and pepper..the sauce was really good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
The primary taste of this recipe was of lemon! The only changes I made was to decrease the onion to one & decreased the egg noodles to 8 oz. We will not make again; have other beef stroganoff recipes that are very good. This just didn't have enough beef taste. I think part of the reason was that the beef was never browned to develop the glaze in the pan that adds so much to the taste of the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Zimmerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I made this for the 1st time for my son and 3 of his friends!! It came out great! I did use 1/2 the broth and added extra garlic and "greek seasonings". Definitly will make again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States