Best Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I used frozen egg noodles, which were fantastic. Given a choice, I would always use the frozen egg noodles (instructions on the package) or from scratch noodles. I also used what I had on hand as follows: 1) canned mushrooms instead of fresh, 2) red cooking wine instead of Burgundy wine, 3) leftover diced prime rib (we only had 10 ounces, but that was enough), 4) chicken broth instead of beef consomme (using broth instead of consomme will require more flour to make sure the liquid is thick enough). We loved the lemon juice and did not decrease it as some have suggested. Excellent recipe, Speechteacher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a good recipe as is, but I felt a few changes were needed. First, increasing the flour to 3 T. tightened up the sauce considerably. Also, 3 T. of lemon juice would have put the sauce far beyond the familiar tang associated with stroganoff; I reduced to 2 T. and it was still a bit much. Also, a bit of salt and pepper really brought out the flavors. As mentioned by many others, it's really a good idea to brown the meat first. In all, a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
It needs to be cooked a day in advanced and put in the fridge & eat it the next day the flavors came out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca M. Grimm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I found the recipe to be quite good. Although I can only give four stars due to some changes. I used ground beef and used the drippings to make a rue, to thicken the sauce. I also added some dill, paprika, salt and pepper. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by She-Ra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
We enjoyed this!!! For years I have been making stroganoff with Cream of Mushroom soup. When I learned that there is MSG and other chemicals in the soup that isn't good for you, I wanted to find something that was better, something that used natural ingredients. This was perfect..and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
My husband and children love hambuger helper which I cant stand.... So I decided to go with this recipe after reading a few reviews on it. This recipe was very easy and quick to prepare. The flavor idea seem to be on point but, we are comparing it to hamburger helper. My family and I both felt it was way to oniony (12 servings ask for 3 onions finely chopped.) We also thought the sauce was not thick enough. I felt the final sause was not rich enough. My children felt it taste to much like wine. My husband and I liked the Burgandy wine flavor. Next time I think I will use 1 1/2 onion for 12 servings and use half cream cheese and half sour cream to make it creameir thicker and richer. I even think I will marinade the beef in white wine and seasoning before cooking, leave out the burgundy too. If its wonderful I will be sure to let you know!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Valendra
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
MMmmm good!.. I made a few substitutions, sherry for the wine and canned mushrooms. I cut the lemon back to about 1T and seasoned my beef well with garlic, salt, pepper and cayenne (my favorites). I had some homemade chicken stock in the freezer and I used that; sprinkled some flat leaf parssley on top when I served it. This is a hubby pleaser!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I didn't add the entire container of Sour Cream b/c my husband isn't a fan of it. So glad I didn't. It was very rich already. But so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
We all liked it--tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Iwas looking for a recipe to use leftover chuck roast from the night before otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. Even my picky husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hochstein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States