Best Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
We enjoyed this!!! For years I have been making stroganoff with Cream of Mushroom soup. When I learned that there is MSG and other chemicals in the soup that isn't good for you, I wanted to find something that was better, something that used natural ingredients. This was perfect..and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
My husband and children love hambuger helper which I cant stand.... So I decided to go with this recipe after reading a few reviews on it. This recipe was very easy and quick to prepare. The flavor idea seem to be on point but, we are comparing it to hamburger helper. My family and I both felt it was way to oniony (12 servings ask for 3 onions finely chopped.) We also thought the sauce was not thick enough. I felt the final sause was not rich enough. My children felt it taste to much like wine. My husband and I liked the Burgandy wine flavor. Next time I think I will use 1 1/2 onion for 12 servings and use half cream cheese and half sour cream to make it creameir thicker and richer. I even think I will marinade the beef in white wine and seasoning before cooking, leave out the burgundy too. If its wonderful I will be sure to let you know!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Valendra
Photo by Traci's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
MMmmm good!.. I made a few substitutions, sherry for the wine and canned mushrooms. I cut the lemon back to about 1T and seasoned my beef well with garlic, salt, pepper and cayenne (my favorites). I had some homemade chicken stock in the freezer and I used that; sprinkled some flat leaf parssley on top when I served it. This is a hubby pleaser!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I didn't add the entire container of Sour Cream b/c my husband isn't a fan of it. So glad I didn't. It was very rich already. But so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
We all liked it--tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Iwas looking for a recipe to use leftover chuck roast from the night before otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. Even my picky husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
There isn't much flavor to this recipe and my sauce didn't really thicken as it should have. Next time I am going to add a bit more garlic, and season my beef with salt and pepper and work on the thickening of the sauce and I think it will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This is a good one! I substituted the mushrooms with peas, and added 2 dashes of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
The suggested THREE tablespoons of lemon juice spoiled it. I should have followed my instincts and the comments of some reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Wonderful. I used this as a make ahead meal.I had 1 pound of leftover cooked sirloin roast. Used a skillet to cook the onions/garlic/mushrooms in butter. Removed from heat. Added the sliced beef to skillet. Used a separate saucepan to whisk 10 oz of beef broth/lemon/wine then added in 3T wondra/2T broth/1 T butter. Poured this into the skillet and mixed all together. Let it cool and "rest" in fridge for a 3 hours. At dinnertime, I made the noodles. Added the sour cream to the skillet and then reheated and served over hot egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States