Best Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I loved it, but I was short several items to make it. The next time I make it it'll taste like Beef Stroganoff should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Thomasboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was pretty good, but I wouldn't really call it "the best" It never really thickened up like stroganoff usually does even though I used 3 T of flour. I added worcesterchire, onion powder and freshly ground pepper while I was browning the meat to add more flavor and I will definitely do that again. Also, using portobello mushrooms was nice because they are hearty and rich tasting. I will probably make this again since I like that I can make it even if I don't have a can of cream of mushroom soup handy. So many other recipes use that and it's nice that this one uses all fresh ingredients. I also liked the kick that fresh lemon juice added. I have a recipe that uses red wine vinegar instead and it was also good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great flavor and easy to prepare. We loved it and I'll be making it again. Funny story, my boyfriend instantly went to the soup aisle to pick of cream of mushroom soup because that's how his mother always made it. He's a believer now. Fresh ingredients only make this a mouth watering dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnoel42

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I made this tonight and followed recipe except i used marsala wine instead of burgundy and it was delicious!!! i will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrgmomdebra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I am working with a small budget and trying to stretch my money so I used a cheaper cut of meat--stew meat--in place of the beef loin steak. Because I used the cheaper cut of meat, I had to let it simmer a while so it would become tender. I sauteed the mushrooms, onions and meat until browned (adding fresh ground pepper), then added the other ingredients, brought it up to a boil, then covered and reduced heat and let it simmer for an hour or so. I left out the lemon juice because I was a little skeptical only because I didn't want the sauce to be too sour with the burgundy AND the lemon juice......I know.....shame on me. After tasting the stroganoff, I added a teaspoon of dried basil and dried oregano. I also tossed the buttered noodles with a little fresh ground pepper and some dried parsley. We really thought this was quite good, you couldn't even tell I used a cheaper cut of meat. My kids especially liked this with the buttered egg noodles. I'll make this again. NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Excellent!! Only change I made was to lightly cook the meat first and then followed the recipe as is.. My wife and her friend enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Delepine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
ok, but leave out the wine.. add pepper and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This dish was so tasty! I used a Merlot wine that I had open already instead of the one suggested in this recipe and it was very good. I gave it 5 stars because it was delicious and the whole family ate it! *The only change I will make next time is to cut back on the lemon- 3 T was a bit too much for me.* Love this dish and look forward to making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Stoykovich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
this recipe is so good i did make a couple changes. I added 1T dijon mustard and i didnt have consomme i had chicken stock so i added 1.5 c of that and a tablespoon of beef boullion paste. I upped the garlic to 4 cloves and upped the wine to 1/2 cup. My whole family including my 21 month old devoured this and loved this. KEEPER for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Very VERY good! It was perfect. The only thing I did different was not add as many mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Caswell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States