Best Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
fantastic!! my husband likes it too even though he hates mushrooms!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E.Sanders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Very good, I added cream of mushroom instead of regular mushrooms. Also I did hamburger instead of steak, good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Delicious! Based on other reviews, I coated the beef in flour, salt and pepper, then browned. Removed from the pan, then followed the directions in the recipe. I omitted the mushrooms (we don't like them) and wine (didn't have any). Went to add the sour cream and discovered I didn't have any! So I substituted plain yogurt. Hubby, kids and I all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The flavor was really good even prior to adding sour cream. I didn't have beef consomme or stock so used chicken broth with 3 beef bouillon cubes. The best stroganoff and the last recipe I'll use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
eh... would definitely brown the meat before and i found the sauce to be far too thing. I used consomme and not broth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Followed the recipe, but could not get the sauce to thicken even a little bit. Also, it didn't really have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I found this recipe to be a little bit bland the first time around, so I made a few modifications...I replaced the red wine will Amontillado, and I also added a pinch of ground caraway seeds a a 1/4 teaspoon of dried dill to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I loved it, but I was short several items to make it. The next time I make it it'll taste like Beef Stroganoff should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Thomasboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was pretty good, but I wouldn't really call it "the best" It never really thickened up like stroganoff usually does even though I used 3 T of flour. I added worcesterchire, onion powder and freshly ground pepper while I was browning the meat to add more flavor and I will definitely do that again. Also, using portobello mushrooms was nice because they are hearty and rich tasting. I will probably make this again since I like that I can make it even if I don't have a can of cream of mushroom soup handy. So many other recipes use that and it's nice that this one uses all fresh ingredients. I also liked the kick that fresh lemon juice added. I have a recipe that uses red wine vinegar instead and it was also good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great flavor and easy to prepare. We loved it and I'll be making it again. Funny story, my boyfriend instantly went to the soup aisle to pick of cream of mushroom soup because that's how his mother always made it. He's a believer now. Fresh ingredients only make this a mouth watering dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnoel42

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States