Best Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Too much lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I finally found a recipe for Stroganoff that we both love! I think it's the lemon that gives it that extra little "zing" that I've been searching for. Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I thought this recipe was great! The wine and the sour cream made for a delicious combination. I use and inexpensive Cabernet Sauvignon and my sauce was not purple as other people have mentioned. I am thinking they may have used a Merlot which definitely has that more intense color. I ended up using venison instead of beef and the flavor was fantastic. This is an outstanding recipe and it doesn't use any yucky condensed mushrrom soup! Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Like many other people, I used this recipe as a guide and changed it to fit what I had on hand. I used canned venison, dehydrated morel mushrooms, and marsala wine. The liquid used to rehydrate the morels in was reduced and added to the broth from the canned venison. I skipped the minced garlic so it wouldn't overpower the delicate morel flavor. I had to add about 4-5 tbsp of flour mixed with venison broth to thicken the sauce. The resulting dish was wonderful! Can't wait to try it with fresh morels this spring. I particulary liked the lemon juice addition: it seemed to lighten the flavors without standing out. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Mmmm! This was the recipe I was looking for! Added the red wine and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is an easy recipe to make and my family loved it. Deffinately a keeper. Only thing was I didn't have any burgundy on hand so I used what I had, white cooking wine. I know it was at the opposite ends of taste but this still was great. The next trip to the store will include burgundy cooking wine to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy bar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
awesome but best when cooled for a few
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
delicious just the way it is! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tsukuba, Ibaraki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
WOW!! This was AWESOME! I did like JessicaB, tossing the meat in salt, pepper, and a little bit of flour and cooked it first. Then I cooked the onions, garlic, and mushrooms in a little more butter. Also, used Wondra and cold water to thicken. Also, didn't have Burgandy, so used some red wine I had around. It was AMAZING! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by langeloro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
fantastic!! my husband likes it too even though he hates mushrooms!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E.Sanders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States