Best Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This was really yummy. I didn't use the wine because I didn't have any. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morro Bay, California, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
The primary taste of this recipe was of lemon! The only changes I made was to decrease the onion to one & decreased the egg noodles to 8 oz. We will not make again; have other beef stroganoff recipes that are very good. This just didn't have enough beef taste. I think part of the reason was that the beef was never browned to develop the glaze in the pan that adds so much to the taste of the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Zimmerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
My husband and I agree this is the BEST beef stroganoff we have ever had!! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I left out the Burgundy because I didn't have any on hand. I wouldn't recommend adding the raw steak to the cooking onion mixture. It doesn't develop a beef flavor. Better to brown the beef in a separate pan and add it, together with some of the juices, to the onion mixture. 14 ounces of consomme makes a pretty liquid sauce. If you have absorbent noodles they will take some of the liquid. But I'd recommend making the thickening liquid (flour and water) with 3 tablespoons of flour. You don't have to use the whole amount, just add as necessary. (I ended up using 3 Tbs of flour). Either that, or start by using only 9-10 ounces of the consomme and adding more as needed to keep the sauce at the right consistency. As to the lemon juice, that can really overpower a dish. I took 1/2 of a lemon and "forked" it over the pan a couple of times. I probably added less than 1/2 of a teaspoon. A little fresh lemon juice goes a long way. These exceptions aside, this is a really nice and easy recipe. I wouldn't hesitate to serve it to company. Thanks for letting us have this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
We followed the recipe to the tee, except we browned the meat first which is definitely the way to go. We have had better results from other beef stroganoff recipes. We probably will not use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This was ok. My sauce was way too watery. It didn't have a lot of flavor. I won't make it again. I'll keep looking for a better stroganoff recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I made this for my husband and I last week and I thought it was....okay. I followed the recipe exactly and was a little disappointed. I was hoping it would be a little more like what my mom used to make. We won't have this version again but we will keep looking for a good stroganoff recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I made this for the 1st time for my son and 3 of his friends!! It came out great! I did use 1/2 the broth and added extra garlic and "greek seasonings". Definitly will make again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Added 1 tbls dijon mustard for extra flavor. Delicious and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States