Best Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was a good base recipe, but I did make a few changes. I used a large skillet and browned the onion and garlic in the butter, then I added the steak, followed by the mushrooms. When the steak was cooked, I added the flour to the pan and stirred it for a few minutes to cook it through. Then I slowly stirred in beef stock (I was fresh out of consomme). I added 1 TBS of worchestershire sauce instead of the burgundy to bring out the beef flavor, then allowed it to come to a boil for several minutes for the "roux" to develop its full thickening power. I added about 1 TBS of fresh lemon juice, but will leave this out next time as we felt it overpowered the other flavors in the dish. The sour cream makes the dish, and the sauce was not too thin, but was just right. I did need to add salt and black pepper, though. I agree that the recipe, made as stated, only feeds four with no leftovers to speak of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I too followed the advice of lessening the onion amount and cooking the beef up-front. I added cooking sherry and re-hydrated/ & chopped wild mushroom to the mix. I rated this four on the initial recipe and 5 with changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Based on other reviewers' comments, I cut the onions in half and added more garlic. I also browned the meat before cooking the onions. The house smelled WONDERFUL when I was cooking but the stroganoff itself seemed a little bland. I will try this again, varying the quantities of the ingredients and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Great base recipe. I added extra mushrooms and beef. Wonderful and even better the next day! THank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
the best tasting recipe i have tasted...i make it frequently...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I cooked this recipe exactly as written. I did not really think that it was thick enough. I enjoyed the flavor though. Very good. Next time if I use this recipe, I will make it just a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This is the best recipe I have found for Stroganoff. I used a little more than 14 oz of the consomme and it just required a little more thickening. Other than that, no changes - It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Good and simple recipe. Family enjoyed and there wasn't drop left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I think this recipe turned out really well. I did make a few changes...I tossed the raw sliced meat with salt, pepper and about 2 tablespoons of flour. Then I browned the meat BEFORE I cooked the onions, etc. Once the meat was browned I removed it from the pan with the "gravy" that was made from the drippings and the flour. Then I added a bit more butter to the pan and sauteed the onions and garlic in the SAME pan - this way you get the flavor from the leftover drippings and browned pieces in the pan (some reviews said the flavor was bland so I thought this could help). I also cooked the mushrooms longer than the recipe called for to cook out more moisture since many previous reviews said the sauce was too runny. I also used 1/2 the amount of onions called for, added a few glugs of Brandy rather than Burgundy (I didn't want my sauce to be reddish), and didn't use quite as much lemon juice as called for in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States