Best Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
It was GREAT! I made my own noodles, and marinaded the beef with a splash of the cooking wine, lemon juice, beef consume, garlic salt and pepper. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karvysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I thought this recipe was fantastic! I browned the beef separately in a saucepan with worcestershire sauce and coarsely ground black pepper for five minutes. When it was done, I sliced it thin. That's the only variance I had in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very good recipe. I didn't have consomme, just broth, and so I used extra flour. I added the flour to the onions, garlic and beef, and then while stirring, added the lemon juice and let it evaporate. I did the same for the wine before adding the broth. The finished product wasn't that pink at all. I served my husband's portion over egg noodles and mine over steamed vegetables and it was so good that way I'll be doing it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
It was exactly how it should taste! I personally wouldn't add as much sour cream but that is a personal preference. It just wasn't a recipe I enjoyed but ONLY because it just wasn't my taste the recipe itself was awesome and easy to follow and it tasted like a gourmet chef created it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
A good start for stroganoff. Less liquids will make it less soupy and cut the onions in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I loved the flavor of this recipe! Like others, I had problems with thickening the sauce so it was a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I took some liberties w/ this recipe to make it more healthy. I subbed ground turkey for the beef, msg-free chic broth for the beef consomme, & used light sour cream. I appreciate the base recipe though as this was very good. My husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Very good! I followed other users' suggestions about thickness of sauce. The beef didn't have a whole lot of flavor so I'm going to try marinating the beef in the beef consumme next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This recipe wasn't bad but it came out very soupy. I notice some other reviews mention using broth instead of consomme but I used the consomme and it still came out very liquidy. Maybe trying a little less of that or maybe a little more flour to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was a good base recipe, but I did make a few changes. I used a large skillet and browned the onion and garlic in the butter, then I added the steak, followed by the mushrooms. When the steak was cooked, I added the flour to the pan and stirred it for a few minutes to cook it through. Then I slowly stirred in beef stock (I was fresh out of consomme). I added 1 TBS of worchestershire sauce instead of the burgundy to bring out the beef flavor, then allowed it to come to a boil for several minutes for the "roux" to develop its full thickening power. I added about 1 TBS of fresh lemon juice, but will leave this out next time as we felt it overpowered the other flavors in the dish. The sour cream makes the dish, and the sauce was not too thin, but was just right. I did need to add salt and black pepper, though. I agree that the recipe, made as stated, only feeds four with no leftovers to speak of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States