Best Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Wonderful. I used this as a make ahead meal.I had 1 pound of leftover cooked sirloin roast. Used a skillet to cook the onions/garlic/mushrooms in butter. Removed from heat. Added the sliced beef to skillet. Used a separate saucepan to whisk 10 oz of beef broth/lemon/wine then added in 3T wondra/2T broth/1 T butter. Poured this into the skillet and mixed all together. Let it cool and "rest" in fridge for a 3 hours. At dinnertime, I made the noodles. Added the sour cream to the skillet and then reheated and served over hot egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I first looked at this recipe a very long time ago, and since then it has become a definite family favorite. I now no longer even use the recipe and just add stuff to taste, using the basic guidelines. I don't add lemon juice, I use beef broth and cornstarch, and only about 1/2 cup sour cream, plus seasonings to taste, such as parsley and lots of garlic. The way I make it (which I can't pinpoint exactly, and was once this recipe) is absolutely fantastic and is now the only stroganoff we ever eat at my house. Rave reviews from everyone who tries it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvelous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I added some browning liquid and used 14 oz. of beef broth instead of "consumme" since I wasn't sure what that was... I just realized today that I totally left out the sour cream, and it was still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was a hit with the fam! I've been looking for a good recipe for stroganoff and Hey! this one has been added to my personal recipe collection.Thanks for posting. We all sat after the stroganoff and noodles were gone from the plate, licking the gravy. Normally a slogan for chicken but I must say this dish was literally, finger lickin' good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I enjoyed this dish. I used homemade beef stock and cooking wine which added a salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This was great! We're eating low carb, so we just didn't put it on noodles, so I omitted the flour, used less onions, and more mushrooms. Otherwise I made the recipe "as is". Broth was "runny", but we didn't care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
i didn't have mushrooms or garlic so i substituted garlic powder and made it just like the recipe stated. it was fantastic! the whole family loved it! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was the best Stroganoff we have ever had. I served it with green salad and steamed broccoli/cauliflower. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Not as good as My Auntie Lisa's but still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingforlove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
With a few small alterations, it was a very good, standard stroganoff. I used beef stock instead of consomme, and only about 1 1/4 cups. As with many others, I browned the beef first. Instead of mixing the flour with water, I added it directly to the pan after cooking the onions and garlic, then deglazed with the wine. It yielded considerably less than 8 portions - probably more like 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States