Best Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Excellent flavor. I used Sirloin Steak, and reduced onion to just one medium yellow onion. The lemon gave it a bit of a zing and I did use the wine. It was easy to prepare and fairly quick. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was awesome. Left out the mushrooms just cause not really a fan, but followed everything else as directed. the carmelized onions make it so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I thought this was an excellent recipe. I marinated my beef strips in the burgundy (actually I used cabernet sauvignon because I like it better than burgundy) for a few hours. I also added 2 kinds of fresh mushrooms. Other than that, it is great the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Great stroganoff! Makes plenty of sauce to accomodate 2 pounds of beef. My growing boys loved this and even the picky 2 year old ate it. I was in the mood for rice and they were great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is by far the best sauce I have made. Have to agree and will do it the next time and that is the meat should be precooked before adding to sauce. As for the thickening, I added a can of mushroom soup with the can of consumme and skipped the burgandy. Once the mixture melded together, I then did the flour mixture and added the sour cream. My son, who thought the stuff was going to be gross, ate three helpings. This sauce would be good with left over roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debra
Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very good recipe, I did not add the lemon, because I don't like it and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNICOLA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I like that this a a REAL meat version and not just a ground beef dish and that it is relatively simple and quick. That said, it lacks a certain something. The sauce is rather bland, though the wine does add a touch of depth. I noted there was no pepper in the dish so added a touch as the meat was searing. My sauce did not thicken at all from the flour and water slurry so I made an arrowroot slurry (2T 1:1). That helped. Again, not bad, but it is not a favorite. If I make it again, I will add more garlic, course chop my onions, and season with more pepper and maybe some more herbs. May make sauce apart from meat and then incorporate. Maybe I just need to find a slower cooking version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAmEm2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This recipe was okay but not great. The steak was very tender and I think if more was used, this meal would be more satisfying. I omitted the lemon juice per other reviewers' suggestions; I couldn't see why this was an ingredient. It was easy and tasty enough but I don't think I will make this again since there are so many other beef stroganoff recipes to try. Also, I think adding peas to this would bump it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is positively delicious! I may try braising the beef before adding it to the sour cream mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This recipe is the best I have found (it doesn't use unhealthy "cream of" anything). I always make this with left over steak and it gives a great flavor to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States