Best Beef Dip Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Au ju', came so close! Why not make this way more healthy and lower sodium while at the same time add a weight loss benefit? I would have given 5 stars but, in my opinion, folks look to this site when they lack the knowledge to produce really good food. 1 teeny & 1 BIG change, cost a star, the tiny one? Most of you almost chef's, know that great beef requires pre-season directions, and after cooking, resting. Wouldn't you agree? One year ago when I first made use of these wonderful cooking ideas, I had nto a clue! Making several, not bad, meals later, I found great recipes like this one, with how to season and finish a good cut of beef ( or even better) a cheap one! The big change I make to this great recipe is, replace the soy ( very high sodium & pesticides ) using Braggs liquid amino acids instead. Most store's and all healthy food stores carry this, a hugely more healthy alternative to even low sodium soy, and can be used in any recipe that calls for soy sauce in the spoon for spoon measure. And you get a bonus of about a dozen additional health benefits from the Braggs, that are hard to get anywhere else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I just made this today for my husband, myself and three friends. We all thoroughly enjoyed it. I will absolutely make this again. Though I wasn't able to use the given amount for each ingredient, I still rate this as a five-star recipe. These are the things I changed, only because I had to: The roast was 3.6 lbs (the biggest the store had); I used only four cups of water (the most I could fit in my crock pot while not passing the "max-fill line"); I used seven bay leaves (mine are old, thus less potent, so I threw in a few extra). I cooked it on Low for seven hours, then on Warm for the following two hours, then served on hoagie buns, with the au jus in a small bowl. The flavors blended extremely well and the meat was very tender. We had no cheese to add to the sandwiches, but it truly tasted so great without any toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I followed the instructions but used sliced roast beef instead, which I threw in the pot 45 minutes before serving. It was great! Loved the Au Jus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
So good! I have made this three times now. I follow the recipe but have now tripled the garlic in my newer runs, and I like it a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My husband LOVES it. I will admit that I considered calling an addiction society when he tasted it. He wouldn't stop for days! Make with caution. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blkcat118

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Loved it...Only thing is I would make sure I cooked it for at least 10 hours in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it was great. Fantastic job here. Edit: I have made this like 6 times now and we still love it. The au jus is so yummy I could just drink it. Seriously, we had au jus left over after all the meat had been eaten last time and I just dipped french bread in it to eat as a snack. So simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Cook it over night then let it sit all day then heat back up. It is 10x better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Delicious! Not like my mom made (she made some awesome dip) but very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
The meat turned out perfectly tender and well seasoned. I did not find it too salty or tasting too much of rosemary, but then again, I like rosemary quite a bit. Next time, I think I'll add peppercorns at the suggestion of another reviewer. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States