Best Beef Dip Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Geez, I don't know. I made this as written, except halved since my roast was only 2 lbs. We liked the sandwiches well enough, but honestly, the au jus tasted exactly like watered down soy sauce. I let the roast go on low for 9 hours, and it turned out perfect. The au jus needs doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is a favorite in our family-I add a little dried thyme and lots of black pepper. Makes an easy supper for busy nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I love this, my kid's loved it, but my husband thought it was bit to much like onion soup. I think I added to much of the onion. Next time I will decrease the onion, and use a larger roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very easy, excellent for sandwiches. I shorted the water slightly, which made it saltier. Next time I might short the soy a bit if I'm doing another smaller chuck roast. Also added a few mustard seeds just to be funny. I didn't have all day, so I cooked on high for 5 hours. The meat was tender but didn't fall to pieces completely, so I sliced across the grain for our sandwiches. It was delicious, my daughter and husband had seconds and my daughter even ate an extra hoagie roll just to get more jus. I could see adding some other herbs and spices to get a different twist, but this was yummy as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Great recipe...easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was excellent! The grocery store I shop at was out of chuck roast so I substitued English shoulder roast. I will definitely make this again. I'd like to try it with chuck next time. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Best beef ever according to the husband:-) For liquid, ended up using beef broth and a can of beer...i had to try to liven it up a bit b/c i was unexpectedly out of soy sauce. I should have added salt b/c no soy. ended up salting meat when we ate - still tasty deliciousness. next time i will make sure to have the soy sauce...it will probably be 6 stars then! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Eggs
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was fabulous. I give this 5 stars with a stipulation. I had to incorporate many of the review suggestions to make it work. I used 1/2 beef broth and 1/2 water. Put the spices in a spice bag which I removed after cooking. Separated the meat and broth over night. Took off the fat (1/4 inch!) and poured the broth through a cheesecloth. Then combined the broth and meat in a pan on warm for about an hour. My Dad couldn't put it down. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Awesome! I made exactly as the recipe said and I will be making it a lot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was a very nice roast. The flavor was different than what I have fixed before, and that is good. Just something new for my dinner rotation. I am looking forward to having sandwiches with the leftovers tomorrow. Thanks you for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CGG

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 151-160 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States