Best Beef Dip Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Believe the title of this recipe! It really is the best ever. I make this for big family events where I just don't want to worry about cooking all day. It is a no fail beef dip! Very forgiving recipe to modifications too. I have added a can of beef broth to the mix as well- also good. I have omitted the bay leaves and rosemary and found that it is still great! I usually serve it on onion buns with slices of swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gravylegs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very simple! DH and I loved it. We'll be adding this to the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I was leery of this recipe when I smelled it cooking... something odd about the aroma. And the roast never got tender enough to shred, which is what I wanted. After 14 frustrating hours of cooking, I put the slow cooker container into the refrigerator and ordered pizza. Next day I took the roast out of the broth and slice a thin piece and tasted it... HEAVENLY! I had to nibble thin pieces of meat while I prepared the French dip sandwiches. Give this recipe a try, everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Very good! Easy to do and great flavor. I followed others advice and cooked over night, shredded and refrigerated with juice for the day before serving for dinner. Didn't change the recipe ingredients and found it to be perfect. My husband said I could serve this for dinner at least 3 times a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was awesome! So easy and so delicious! Thanks for a keeper.Instead of plain water I did add some Better than Bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Bonhoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
So glad I made this, mine was done in about 7 hours..I couldn't wait any longer it smelled so good! Plenty of au jus for dipping, and plently for left overs that heat up well. To some people who prefer less salt, you might want to try a lower sodium soy sauce is the only thing I'd say, personally I think it's fine and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
LOVE! I, too, made a couple of changes. I used 4 C. beef broth and 2 C. water. I also added in 1 Tbsp. of onion powder. So wonderful! I'll definitely be recommending this recipe to friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
My family and I loved this!! I made it exactly as the recipe said and it turned out great! I sliced it up about two hours before dinner time and let it rest in the sauce until it was time to eat! we ate it on toasted french bread with swiss cheese!! everyone finished everything on their plate! :) thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oroville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I expected this to be much better based on the name. The only modifications I had were low sodium soy sauce (def could've been a factor) and I added a little more garlic just because I like it. I agree with other posters that the flavor with the soy sauce is a little odd and in the future I will use a recipe with more of a beef broth base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This meal was simple and delicious, great for busy weeknights. I prepared the jus the night before (didn't take much time, but didn't want to deal with it in the am) and added it to water and meat in the slowcooker in the morning. It cooked for about 10 hours, and was perfectly tender but not mushy. I made the sauce just as described, and it had a rich beef flavor- our guests did not detect soy sauce (in contrast to other reviewers.) Perhaps the extra long cooking time allowed the flavors to develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States