Best Basic Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Great easy recipe. I've used it to make cinnamon pull-apart bread several times. If you are new to using yeast and hot liquids, I'd suggest some caution -- it's easy to kill the yeast if you let the milk get too hot on the stove. Use a themometer if you can't "guess" what about 115 degrees feels like. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Yeast hint: If microwave the milk, be aware that the temperature may continue to rise 5 to 10 degrees F after you take it out. Let your milk sit for 5 minutes and after nuking and use a thermometer to make sure it is not over 105 to 110 degrees Farenheit when you add the yeast or you may kill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This bread was great! Everyone raved about it. I'll definitely be making this again. For everyone considering making this recipe: be very careful when heating the milk mixture. We had to do it twice as we killed the yeast the first time. In the end we wound up throwing the ingredients in a bowl and putting them in the microwave for 30 seconds rather than heating them on the stove. This worked perfectly and when we added the yeast it foamed just like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hudson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Attempted this recipe twice. The dough never rose. I've made bread before and never had dough not rise before. My yeast was new and the place I put the dough dark and warm. I don't know what happened but I will not be attempting this recipe for a third time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
This is the best bread i have EVER had in my entire life. Incredible texture and taste. Try it topped in butter or make sandwiches with turkey and swiss cheese. Unbelievable, I'm not kidding. I also tried making it with whole wheat flour and it was very good as well. Use "i can't believe it's not butter" instead of butter for a lower-cal bread. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I used this recipe to make monkey bread- my son asks for it every morning! It worked great. The milk/yeast mixture didn't get foamy like the recipe specified, but it rose perfectly! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. Have made cinnamon rolls, braided apple bread, and sweet dinner rolls with it so far. What a fantastically versatile recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rceklarc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I tried this, and they turned out terribly! And I followed the recipe to the T!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
A great recipe! I have used this for loaves, buns, and most importantly Cinnamon Buns using the Cinnamon Bun Icing recipe on this site. I do have a question... I like the texture when I sub. Bread Flour (??Hard Flour??), but how do you modify the basic recipe to get the dough consistently to the correct elasticity??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Very easy to make used this recipe for Braided Easter Sweet Bread I added Almond extract & vanilla extract & it came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micheleone973

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States