Best Basic Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
Made very good dinner rolls, kids had a blast helping. Very good taste, sweet. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I used this recipe to make monkey bread- my son asks for it every morning! It worked great. The milk/yeast mixture didn't get foamy like the recipe specified, but it rose perfectly! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Attempted this recipe twice. The dough never rose. I've made bread before and never had dough not rise before. My yeast was new and the place I put the dough dark and warm. I don't know what happened but I will not be attempting this recipe for a third time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
This is the best bread i have EVER had in my entire life. Incredible texture and taste. Try it topped in butter or make sandwiches with turkey and swiss cheese. Unbelievable, I'm not kidding. I also tried making it with whole wheat flour and it was very good as well. Use "i can't believe it's not butter" instead of butter for a lower-cal bread. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Great easy recipe. I've used it to make cinnamon pull-apart bread several times. If you are new to using yeast and hot liquids, I'd suggest some caution -- it's easy to kill the yeast if you let the milk get too hot on the stove. Use a themometer if you can't "guess" what about 115 degrees feels like. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Turns out great, easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Simple recipe with a very good taste. I would have liked for it to be a little fluffier and not so crumbly though. I tried this for dinner rolls with butter, which was good. I used it the next morning for a ham, egg and cheese sandwich. Not bad. The best was when I made a roast beef sanwich. The sweet flavor in the bread mixed nicely with the meat. I'll keep this recipe filed, but will continue to look for a fluffier dinner roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
OMG this makes suchh good rolls! I steeped chai tea spices in the warm milk and it made it taste soooo good! I will definitely make this any time i want some type of sweet roll...best right out of the oven, or toasted! I used it in bread pudding when it got stale, and it was really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This bread was great! Everyone raved about it. I'll definitely be making this again. For everyone considering making this recipe: be very careful when heating the milk mixture. We had to do it twice as we killed the yeast the first time. In the end we wound up throwing the ingredients in a bowl and putting them in the microwave for 30 seconds rather than heating them on the stove. This worked perfectly and when we added the yeast it foamed just like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hudson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Yeast hint: If microwave the milk, be aware that the temperature may continue to rise 5 to 10 degrees F after you take it out. Let your milk sit for 5 minutes and after nuking and use a thermometer to make sure it is not over 105 to 110 degrees Farenheit when you add the yeast or you may kill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States