Best Basic Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
If I could give this 0 stars I would. The bread did not rise. It was just awful. I don't know what I did wrong. Should I have left it longer to rise?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I've never attempted any sort of bread and this came out perfect the first time. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This was my first time baking bread, and it turned out to taste wonderful! Especially with some home made butter to go along. My only complaint was that it was slightly crumbly, but that was probably my own fault. Still, it made five little loaves and was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missiworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kirksville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I tried this, and they turned out terribly! And I followed the recipe to the T!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I prepared this recipe for the first time today, cutting the proportions in 1/2 as a tasting test .. end result was a bit crumbly as someone else said but the taste was just sweet enough without being overwhelming .. will use again because it allows for so many variations .. perfect for cinnamon or french toast, bread pudding or whatever your imagination creates .. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Just okay. Going to keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. Have made cinnamon rolls, braided apple bread, and sweet dinner rolls with it so far. What a fantastically versatile recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rceklarc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
this is a easy recipe and my family loves it.I've made it four times now and it has turned out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary ellen
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Fantastic, simple recipe. The bread is sweet, but not too sweet. I add 1 tsp "ground mixed spice" and about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of dried peel and cranberries to make the PERFECT Hot Cross Buns. My Brit ex-pat tells me they're closer to the real thing than any other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I used this recipe to make braded cinnamon bread.. Simply follow the directions, cut raised dough in half, and roll out to form a large rectangle. Spread butter evenly all over, and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar. Fold in half, and cut 3 even strips leave one end connected, pinch all open seams, then brad and wrap around to form a circle. Bake as suggested. Pour any sweet glaze over top before it cools. This is the perfect recipe to make any sweet creation, thank you for sharing… Sheila ~:}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States