Best Basic Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This recipe has always been a huge hit with my family. Easy to make and there's never any leftover after dinner. I'm gonna use this recipe to make cinnamon rolls as well, its just that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Banfill
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
LOVED this Recipe! Just made it this morning. Ok, I admit I was expecting a sweet roll, you know Sweet! This wasn't what I was expecting, but it was still Good. My husband came in the door for lunch and asked if I had made bread. He ended up eating TWO of the rolls for lunch. They would make a excellent dinner roll due to the fact that they aren't heavy like a regular store bought roll, and they do have a little sweet to them. The only two additions I made was a little more flour in the bowl while it was mixing as it seemed a bit wet to me, and while it was mixing I added a little bit of cinnamon. I didn't measure it, I just tapped it out while the dough hook was mixing. My husband wants me to make these again for the Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Great recipe, made cinnamon rolls and they turned out perfect! Will definitely use this recipe again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
My son liked these (tho' he's 18 and likes everything!) but my husband and I did not. This recipe tasted just like dinner rolls, but dry. So so dry. If I wanted a dinner roll recipe I would have looked for one. I wanted sweet bread. This is not it. It needs to be sweeter and moister. I want to try tweaking this and see if I can get it to come out better, or I will look for another recipe. That said, the texture was great...good outer crust and firm bread inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Made these as rolls for dinner tonight. It was my first attempt at making any yeast rolls and they were pretty good. I'll make these again with a little personal tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe! I made chocolate chip bread with it. I had some left over and made plain rolls. The boy said its his favourite of my breads so far :-) I killed the yeast on my first attempt. The milk really does need to be just warm. It rose beautifully and my wreath came out lovely. I'll use this recipe in the future for sure, . Thanks for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is a simple, lovely, versatile recipe. I have never had bread not rise and have been making at least one loaf weekly for years, the simplest trick is to not use old yeast, and to stick your finger in the liquid. It should be very warm but not burn. I have never used a thermometer to measure it. You can let your bread machine do the dough cycle for this. It works quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I love this! Thank you so much for this recipe. I add cinnamon sugar and vanilla sometimes but this in itself is very good! I also drizzle warmed nutella over the rolls, which makes a very good morning treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Love It! It didn't work for me on the first attempt but I know what I did wrong (the milk mixture was too hot for the yeast) . I tried a second time and I am so glad I did. I recommend this easy recipe to everyone! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This recipe didn't work for me. It wouldn't rise well, it was dense. Maybe it would be better sea level, but here in colorado, it was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States