Best Baked French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
We had these tonight and really liked them. They are good! I used russet potatoes because that's all I had on hand. I agree with the submitter that the sugar is necessary in this recipe and the taste of sugar is not detectable. I used freshly ground pepper and kosher salt to season along with a healthy dose of garlic powder. They crisp up very well (due to the addition of sugar). They are best served straight out of the oven when they are most hot and crisp. Thank you mmyers168 for a tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambam
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
These are great! They're really easy, quick to make and are delicious. Mine didn't take the full 20 minutes on the second side. Be sure not to forget the non-stick spray - I used foil on my pan for easy cleanup and they stuck a bit because I didn't spray it. They were done in about 30 minutes of baking for me. I only had russets so I used them and they turned out great. Looking forward to making them with "teeny tiny potatoes" cut in half. And also looking forward to tinkering with seasonings - I can see these tasting really good with some parmesan thrown in, or a cheese garlic dry salad dressing seasoning packet. Definitely a keeper I'll make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Great French fry recipe. I made a half-batch for my DH and me and served them with 'Mom's Big Burgers', another AR recipe. The fries were the star of the meal. I liked the crispness of the fries, and I believe it comes from the sugar, so don't omit that ingredient. I never use the fryer in the house, so it will be nice to have homemade baked crispy fries during the cold Indiana winters. Thanks mmyers168 for sharing your "baked" version of French fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
First, let me state that I hate oven fries. Most are a pale imitation of french fries and just not worth the effort. These are not like the others. They're super easy and quite tasty. I'm a french fry purist so only used salt to season, along with the oil and sugar. The flavor is spot-on french fry, no sugar flavor at all. I cut mine into batons and some came out tough on the outside. All of them were creamy on the inside, like a good fry should be. I'll keep playing with the cooking time to get the outside perfect. If I can do that consistently, I'll rate this 5 stars. I served them alongside Crispy Fish Filets (AR recipe). The fish cook so fast that there isn't time to mind another dish at the same time. I really appreciated being able to stick these fries in the oven and set the time. Fish, fries and no stress, it doesn't get much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
The sugar releases the starch (liquid) in the potatoes and then you drain it off and dry them well. When you place them on the baking sheet be sure you place them in a single layer with space around each fry to aid in getting them crispy. The liquid will cause the potatoes to steam which makes them soggy when baked, so if you remove it first then you get a crispier fry. Also, using a lower in starch potato such as red potatoes or Yukon Golds are a better choice than Idaho for crispier fries. Keep in mind the bake time will vary depending on how thick or thin you cut the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I LOVE THESE! You must realize that no baked fry will ever be a fried fry, so don't expect that. These are exceptional compared to other baked fries I've tried from this site and this is now my go to recipe for fries. The little bit of sugar is a must so don't skip it! I follow this recipe exact every time, (and even skip the letting it marinade step when in a time crunch), and they are always all gone at dinner time. Start early though, because this is not FAST FOOD... Between seasoning, chopping, and baking, they do take quite awhile to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culturecooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is definitely a 5-star recipe! I made 1/3 a batch---two larger Yukon potatoes is all. I used about 1 1/2 tablespoons of oil, a teaspoon each of sugar and garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon each of kosher salt and pepper. These were really yummy and disappeared quickly between me and my hubs. We thought these were a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I used Russets and tossed them in the sugar in a mixing bowl, then into a colander for a rest as directed. Dried them with some paper towels then back into the bowl to toss with the salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I baked them on a wire rack over a cookie sheet so did not need to turn them. I make oven fries a lot and I think I prefer the simpler seasonings in this recipe. I also think the sugar definitely makes them more crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
These were excellent! Be careful not to leave them in too long - they get a little tough on the outside. They crisped up very well and the sugar was not noticeable at all. I added a few more spices in the bag and let them sit for about 1/2 hour before cooking. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
These are very good, they get nice and crispy, dont miss that they arent fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jescalynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States