Best Baked French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but I have made roasted potatoes in the same way, but without the sugar. I will try it with sugar but my potatoes always come out crispy without it. I also add thyme, oregano and any other yummy herb on hand... they are delicious. Always remember to use garlic powder with the herbs...So, with a salad, and crusty bread, they are a meal in themselves... thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
My husband raved about these "Best Baked French Fries" (5 stars). They were crispy the way he likes, bordering on crunchy. I made two deviations from the recipe: (i) I skipped the foil and baking spray (oiled fries do not stick to my stainless steel pan); and (ii) I added the salt after baking since I had learned from westcoastmom that this was one of the secrets to crispy fries. This particular recipe is similar to the Weight Watcher's recipe for french fries which also makes use of sugar to make the fries crispy. The next time I make these for these for my husband I will play with the seasoning a bit. I prefer the Weight Watcher's recipe for myself, the major difference being that the fries are softer and evenly browned (flipped in the oven) because they are cut on the round (not in sticks). Thank you Life Tastes Good for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
These are great! I love how crispy they come out cuz I really dislike soggy fries :S Thank you so much for posting this sugar technique I've never heard of before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
These were wonderful! I followed the recipe precisely except that I rinsed the sugar off the potatoes after they released their liquids (then patted dry), and added some onion powder, cayenne, and paprika to the seasoning for a little extra kick. They came out so perfectly that I can't imagine ever frying "fries" again. Thank you for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Just used regular baking potatoes, and have made this several times experimenting with different thicknesses. ALL turned out amazing! If you cut the fries thin, do cut back on the time, though or they will burn! The sugar must be the trick here, because I've never had oven fries turn out this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissPegs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Palestine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I made these last night. My husband said these were best oven fries he had ever eaten. The sugar is a must to draw out the water and drying them off first helps make them crisp. And you can use any seasonings you prefer.Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
The taste of this recipe is great but I found them greasy and the sugar did not help them crisp up. It did remove liquid but that did not help them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Fantastic, especially for baked fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Just made these tonight for myself and my husband and WOW were we impressed. I'd pretty much given up on oven fries but this recipe has changed my mind. I used russet potatoes but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and they were perfect. I'll make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
These are the best baked fries I have ever had. I made them as per the recipe the first time and they were really good. The next time (and every time since) I switched out the salt and pepper for 2 teaspoons of seasoning salt and they went from really good to awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States