Best Baked French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
We had these tonight and really liked them. They are good! I used russet potatoes because that's all I had on hand. I agree with the submitter that the sugar is necessary in this recipe and the taste of sugar is not detectable. I used freshly ground pepper and kosher salt to season along with a healthy dose of garlic powder. They crisp up very well (due to the addition of sugar). They are best served straight out of the oven when they are most hot and crisp. Thank you mmyers168 for a tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambam
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Made these a steak cut fries. I used garlic flavored olive oil (I like the added garlic flavor). The fries turned out crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. Delish. I also used red skinned potatoes, as that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sasigrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is definitely a 5-star recipe! I made 1/3 a batch---two larger Yukon potatoes is all. I used about 1 1/2 tablespoons of oil, a teaspoon each of sugar and garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon each of kosher salt and pepper. These were really yummy and disappeared quickly between me and my hubs. We thought these were a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
These are great! They're really easy, quick to make and are delicious. Mine didn't take the full 20 minutes on the second side. Be sure not to forget the non-stick spray - I used foil on my pan for easy cleanup and they stuck a bit because I didn't spray it. They were done in about 30 minutes of baking for me. I only had russets so I used them and they turned out great. Looking forward to making them with "teeny tiny potatoes" cut in half. And also looking forward to tinkering with seasonings - I can see these tasting really good with some parmesan thrown in, or a cheese garlic dry salad dressing seasoning packet. Definitely a keeper I'll make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I make these for both side-dishes and snacks. They're great hot or cold and I love the fact that I can play with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Just finished eating these yummy potatoes!!! I added one more ingredient, a teaspoon of Mrs. Dash onion seasoning. My son was waiting patiently for these to bake as the smell was incredible! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwyn
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
These are very good, they get nice and crispy, dont miss that they arent fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jescalynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
These were excellent! Be careful not to leave them in too long - they get a little tough on the outside. They crisped up very well and the sugar was not noticeable at all. I added a few more spices in the bag and let them sit for about 1/2 hour before cooking. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This recipe was a hit with my three boys and husband. They were easy to make and everyone kept coming back for more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I tried this recipe this evening. Added minced garlic rather than garlic powder and dried rosemary to the marinade. They are really good- the perfect blend and flavour. I won't be using any other recipe again. The crispiness of these baked fries make it a winner. I don't miss the deep fried ones when I eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States