Best Baked French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Perfect fries. I didn't toss in a bag, just a bowl, but every fry got coated. They came out crispy and delicious. Dipped in a Sriracha garlic sauce found on this site. (Avocado Fries with Sriracha Garlic Dipping Sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Wow! Fabulous! I only had small red potatoes on hand, so I cut down on the time. Used half olive and half veg. oil. Seasonings the same as stated. We love chili cheese fries, so I dumped on the toppings. My Honey just loved them, as did I. Thanks so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My husband raved about these "Best Baked French Fries" (5 stars). They were crispy the way he likes, bordering on crunchy. I made two deviations from the recipe: (i) I skipped the foil and baking spray (oiled fries do not stick to my stainless steel pan); and (ii) I added the salt after baking since I had learned from westcoastmom that this was one of the secrets to crispy fries. This particular recipe is similar to the Weight Watcher's recipe for french fries which also makes use of sugar to make the fries crispy. The next time I make these for these for my husband I will play with the seasoning a bit. I prefer the Weight Watcher's recipe for myself, the major difference being that the fries are softer and evenly browned (flipped in the oven) because they are cut on the round (not in sticks). Thank you Life Tastes Good for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This is the best French fries I have ever had! They taste so good but make me glad because they are healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
These are so good. My husband actually said he preferred them to "real fries", which is pretty good praise coming from him. I will definitely be making these again. Bonus for how customizable they are as far as seasoning goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
These fries are the best! After trying them, I'll never buy frozen fries again. There is no comparison in quality. They're also very easy to make. I use a food processor with a french fry blade to cut the potatoes, which saves a lot of time. As others have stated, I also find that mine take closer to 10 minutes once they've already been flipped. These are definitely worth the extra couple of steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I used Russet potatoes instead of Yukon Gold, because that's what I had on hand. I cut the potatoes into slightly larger fries than recommended. They turned out very well, but next time I will cut the potatoes into slightly smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
While the seasoning is good, the use of olive oil and cooking at 425 degrees is really off. They came out super burnt after only 15 minutes because olive oil couldn't handle the heat of 425 degrees. FAIL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
The sugar step makes an unbelievable difference to the texture of these fries! I've made baked fries for years, but they were always a bit disappointing. The only difference between my old method and this recipe is the sugar step. It is key and the reason why it's a 5-star recipe. Try seasoned salt, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Finally! A cooking method that makes perfect non- floppy fries!! Very important not to skip the sugar step; set your potatoes that are in the colander inside a large bowl; you will be amazed at the liquid that comes out of the potatoes! Also very important, is that each fry lays flat as recipe states. I have done it in a hurry before and just kinda piled them all on the sheet, (cause let's be honest, if you're feeding a big family, a pan of fries laid out flat will not feed many people) and they were still good, just not as crispy. But, when you take the time to lay each one out, and flip each one half way through, they are crispy and yummier. :) Also, feel free to play with the seasonings! Italian is yummy too, or Goya. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States