Best Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
DELICIOUS!!!! I had to make a few changes but it still came out wonderful. I used Italian breadcrumbs instead of stuffing, light/reduced fat sour cream, garlic powder instead of salt. I ommitted the butter and sprayed tops of chicken, once breaded, with butter flavored Pam cooking spray. I broiled the dish the last few minutes of baking to give it a golden brown color. The changes definately cut down on the fat and makes for a healthier dish. WOW, it was so so good. The kids asked for seconds!! They asked for me to make this every night!! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
524 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.K.B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
OMG This is delish! I've been making this for about 3 months now so I could check out some variations. I will only use Stove Top Chicken Flavor cause that turns out the best every time (dumped the package in a large ziploc and roll over with a rolling pin a few times, gives it just enough crush to cover chicken but still crunch!). There's something about the lemon juice, soy sauce & sour cream combo that seems perfect. I mix it up in a bowl and let the chicken sit in it for about 5 min. Is it possible that this tenderizes the meat some? Dunno, but its moist and tasty every time! I use garlic powder & celery salt, which seems to work for us without being too salty. The melted butter on top is essential as I found out. Hubby LOVES this & so does everyone I make it for. Serve with something green & cranberry sauce and it feels like a holiday! Too good for words. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
Wow, too much salt!!! 57% of the daily allowance is entirely too much for just one dish. The salty taste drowns out other more desireable flavors. Use celery seed, instead of celery salt, garlic powder instead of garlic salt and eliminate the soy sauce. There is plenty to salt in the stuffing mix and sour cream to accomadate the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I was surprised how good these chicken breats were. I didn't have any celery salt, but I think that is okay as they were already a little salty. If I make again I will try crushing the stuffing mix first as it was difficult for some of the larger pieces to stick to the chicken. I also only cooked my chicken breast for 30 minutes and they were done perfectly. Fifty minutes seems like a very long time to cook boneless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
Holy Cow --- the amount of salt in this recipe is astounding! NO ONE needs this much salt at any one seating! There are many ways to substitute the amount of salt in this recipe without losing any of the flavor. We always use fresh garlic instead of garlic SALT, using low-sodium soy sauce is also a good idea. Celery SALT isn't needed, either. Using celery seed actually gives the chicken a fresher taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Forget the Lemon juice... use FRESH LIME JUICE! The flavor is just remarkable! I doubled the sauce and marinated the breasts for 6 hours. (I agree with other that cut the cooking time, depending on the size of the breasts.) I heated the extra sauce (With a tad bit of cornstarch to thicken it) and laced it over the breasts, as a light "gravy". Served with Brown Rice and fresh-steamed brocolli...AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This one is a keeper! I cut the recipe in half and it easily fed my family of four. Other than that, I made it as written with no changes or substitutions. Super easy to throw together. It was very good tasting, and a big hit with even my picky eater kids! To those that are slamming the recipe on sodium content alone, there are ways to cut back. You can use low-sodium soy sauce and unsalted butter and cut the garlic & celery salts back (obviously). It isn't helpful to slam a recipe on salt content alone without knowing if you tried to make the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was OK. Of course, like everyone else, I recommend using garlic powder and celery seed. Also, make sure you use a good quality stuffing, because that makes a huge difference. If I make this again, I think I would try crushed croutons because I wasn't crazy about the stuffing. Also, do let the chicken marinate in sour cream mix in the fridge for about a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Husband is a VERY picky chicken eater and I am constantly looking for ways to prepare chicken that he will like-but he LOVED this recipe. A definate redo! I used boneless breasts and thighs since he likes white and I like dark. Was scrumptous and easy to prepare. Thanks Emily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I couldn't rate this recipe 5 stars because I didn't have the stuffing mix. Instead I used Kashi 7 grain corn flakes smashed up. My kids rated it a 5 and asked me to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States